Still Awake

At 2:30 a.m.  Not because of baby Layla.  Nope.  This is because of choice.  I have been sitting up organizing bills and papers.  I have felt very out of control around here lately and I just HAD to get these things organized.  I don’t like feeling out of control.  I am going on an organizing frenzy.  I think this is back-to-work “nesting”.  I feel like I have to get a bunch of stuff accomplished before going back next week.  Anyway…I have tons of things on my mind so I’ll dump a few of  them here and then go to bed.

  • I DREAD having to call the insurance company tomorrow about our hospital bills.  Our out of pocket maximum is $3000 but somehow I owe the hospital and MD over $4000–something’s not adding up right.
  • I also DREAD calling the hospital to set up a payment plan.  And the doctor’s office.  And the anesthesiologist’s office.  One day Layla will be all paid for….maybe in about 3 years or so.
  • My hubby is sleeping through the Godfather.  I have never seen this movie but from what I hear I don’t think I’m missing anything.
  • I am praying SO HARD for this new job opportunity to work out.  Basically it would require me to be on-call Monday through (hopefully) Thursday from 5pm-8am.  Some nights the nurses are really busy.  Other nights (like the last time I took call) we are not busy at all.  This has the potential to be amazingly awesome for us.  For one, I would be home every. single. day. Aaron would be home in the evenings if I get called out.  I would be off every weekend.  I would never need a babysitter and homeschooling would be much easier if I was home everyday.  Here is the REALLY great part of all of it….this would be a full time, salaried position with benefits!  So whether I work 5 hours a week or 40 hours a week my pay would be the same every week.  Honestly there are more slow weeks than busy weeks.  There are negatives.  The thought of having to be available every night of the week.  There is the potential that I may have to cover a two county area (the two furthest points from one county to the other is almost 2 hours apart).  But I don’t think I can turn this down if it is offered to me.  I would be making about 2 1/2 times the money I am making now which means we can pay off these medical bills in a few months rather than a few years.  Our van can get paid off much quicker.  And then we can really tackle the mortgage and best of all have money to put in savings and to put towards our retirement fund.  Anyway.  Enough about that.
  • I was reading on Teri’s blog about her resolutions.  I have a few in mind for myself that I intend to keep next year.  Don’t we always say that though?  I’ll have to look back and see if I kept my resolutions from last year!

Layla is stirring around, and my eyes are very very heavy.  So it’s adios for tonight.

2 Responses to “Still Awake”


  1. 1 Lindsey December 9, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Oh dear….tell me about the payment plans. Whew! I despise it! I’m so ready to have it paid off. Thankfully, none of them gain interest. We’re plugging away at it a little at a time. I’m hoping to have it paid off by April.

    • 2 lsaufley December 9, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Well I am going to call and tell them that I will pay them “x” amount of money a month. They can take it or . . . . well, take it. I can’t pay them a huge amount a month. They really don’t care how much you pay as long as you have a plan and are paying it consistantly every month! They will get it when they get it! I’m just hoping my insurance company can get the billing straight because I have bills that are about$1700 over my maximum out of pocket amount. I was counting on the fact that I would only have to pay $3000 out of pocket total…which isn’t bad considering I had major surgery!


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

