Saturday Social

Just a few random blogs from the web that you may enjoy.

1)  Layla would not go to sleep last night.  She just wouldn’t give it up and close her eyes.   So I was feeding her and Aaron was awake with us and he and I both had our blackberries in hand (’cause we are dorks like that–sometimes we even text each other when we are in the same room!).  I remembered that I had bought her a Beatles lullaby CD and popped that in so we’d have some soothing music to listen to.

And then I remembered I had read about a Queen lullaby CD (our family looooovvveesssss Queen!) so I googled it on my blackberry.  That led to a discovery of TONS of very cool lullaby CDs.  Check out Rockabye Baby Music and you can purchase lullaby rendition CDs from artists such as Bob Marley, Guns n’ Roses, U2, Pixies, Tool, Nirvana, Metallica, AC/DC, Green Day and many more!  We are huge music fans (and our other girls already are as well) so we will definitely be getting some of these lullabies on CD for Layla!  Unfortunately there is no Eric Clapton version yet!

A few of my favorites so far:  “Heart Shaped Box”  by Nirvana, “Redemption Song” by Bob Marley, “Fat Bottomed Girls” by Queen, “Clocks” by Coldplay and “You Shook Me All Night Long” by AC/DC.  And the artwork on the covers is awesome.  Come on…who can resist singing your child to sleep at night to the tune of “Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails?

2)  ABC and 123. Just found this blog tonight and have just started looking through it.  Looks like a fabulous homeschool resource and I see lots of turkey crafts and projects which we will be beginning next week in preparation for Thanksgiving!

3)  Superwhy!  Gotta throw this one in for Madalyn.  Since we cancelled our phone and our cable we now only have the basic networks along with several PBS stations.  Thank goodness for PBS Kids.  It gives my kids a good fix of “kid” shows and there are several shows that are reading based that Madalyn has really fallen in love with!  Superwhy, Word Girl and Word World are just a few.  I’m partial to Superwhy although that spelling fairy song really annoys the mess out of me!

4)  Last but not least I’ll share this oldie but goodie just in case you have been living under a rock and have not heard of it.  Etsy rocks!  And since my playgroup moms surprised me with a monetary gift in honor of Layla’s birth I have been perusing the site looking for a new baby sling.  We have two and neither are all that comfortable.  I love supporting crafters and Etsy is a great way to do it!

 

1 Response to “Saturday Social”


  1. 1 Gina November 15, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    L.O.V.E. PBS kids – and Word World – like SuperWHY too, but I’m so with you on the spelling fairy – she has annoyed the mess out of me since day 1!!

    Thanks for the Etsy reference – I had heard of it, but never actually stopped to check it out!


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

