Works for Me Wednesday

I had good intentions to post something yesterday but it didn’t happen because I was soooo sick!  Fever, aches, chills, headache.  Thinking I may have a very mild flu virus.  I feel much better today.  My fever is under control and the aches and headaches are gone.  Hopefully the worst of it is over.

So today is Works for me Wednesday–on Thursday!  If you can think of a great tip you want to share then join me by posting on your blog!

Layla is now 17 days old.  We are just loving having her in our family.  She is such a good baby!  We all just love her to pieces!  I thought I’d share a few items that so far have “worked for me”!

1)  Reuseable Nursing Pads.  I really like the Green Sprouts organic cotton flannel nursing pads.  They are SO much more comfortable than the disposables.  And if you have sore nipples then the more comfortable the better.  I have bought other brands of reuseables but these are by far the most comfortable.  If you know your way around a sewing machine you could make lots of these for very little money.  Or you can purchase them on Etsy–just search for nursing pads.  Trust me, your boobs will thank you.

2)  Fisher Price Soothing Motions Glider. We were blessed to have one of these given to us by the sister-in-law of our boss.  I don’t know how we would have survived these first few weeks without it.  Layla takes naps in it and on really fussy nights she sleeps in it (she’s not too fond of her cradle just yet).   It glides both ways–back and forth and from side to side and the seat swivels all the way around.  It is awesome!

3)  Fuzzi Bunz and Thirsties cloth diapers.  I think it’s funny when I tell people we are using cloth diapers.  Most people say, “really?!”.  I never thought I would use them either–and probably wouldn’t if I was working full time because it is a time commitment.  I had decided to use disposables for the first month or so until I was recovered from surgery but Layla’s little bum was getting so read from the disposables that we decided to go ahead and start with the cloth diapers.  I already had a Thirsties diaper that I purchased months ago and I was blessed to be able to buy 11 fuzzi bunz diapers (and a diaper pail) from a friend for only $50!!!  It was an incredible blessing because there was no way we could have afforded to purchase 12 diapers at full price.  So far we love the cloth diapers.  I love the Thirsties because they have velcro but the Fuzzi Bunz have snaps that will allow them to grow with her and will probably fit her right up to potty training time!

So what works for you this week?!

 

2 Responses to “Works for Me Wednesday”


  1. 1 Lindsey November 12, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Oh no! Glad you are on the upswing.

    I like the re-usable nursing pads too. I use some that my mom bought me…think they are made by Gerber. But…I have all of the stuff to make some using the instructions here – http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2009/04/homemade-nursing-pads.html – and may do it.

    WHAT AN AWESOME PRICE ON THOSE DIAPERS! WOWEE! I was wrong. It’s not fuzzi bunz we have, it’s kushies. But – I like them. I put a couple of the bummis one size on Savannah’s wish list for Christmas.

  2. 2 Alison November 13, 2009 at 6:55 am

    I used reusable nursing pads too (and had a ton) and I’ll tell you what I use them for know–my face :). I use them instead of cotton balls for things like toner and such…I know cotton balls aren’t expensive or anything but every little thing helps 😉


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

