Who needs sleep anyway?

Here I am.  Wide awake.  At 1 a.m.  It could be because of the craziness of my infant daughter’s schedule.

Or maybe the large amounts of Mt. Dew I have been consuming–partly because I am craving it now that I can drink it and not feel guilty and partly because it helps with the headaches I’ve been having off and on for the last week.

Whatever the reason I am here at 1 a.m. on the computer while the rest of the family is asleep.  Any minute now I expect that Layla is going to wake up ready to eat and I guess I’ll go to bed then too.  But for now I’m blogging!

Here are some random thoughts going through my head:

  • Layla has not gained any weight back.  We have been for two weight checks and she still sits at 6 pounds, 13 ounces which is about 12 ounces less than her birth weight.  I’m trying not to get concerned.  Madalyn did the same thing when she was born.  C-section moms get a lot of fluids before and during surgery which shifts to the baby and then is lost after birth.  Still . . . I wonder if I am producing enough milk.  I thought for sure I was but now I’m wondering.  The doctor asked me to pump over the weekend which I have had time to do all of twice.  I was able to get almost 2 ounces the first time and 1 ounce the second time.  I see my OB-GYN tomorrow and my pedi wants me to ask him for a milk stimulating med “just in case”.
  • I’ve been doing well.  I had to take a Darvocet tonight and that was the first one I have taken in about 5 days.  I’m still sore at times but I notice improvements everyday.  I see Dr. G for my follow up tomorrow.  Luckily Aaron will be coming home to watch Annagrace and Madalyn while I go to my appointment.  Whew!  I was NOT looking forward to taking all 3 of them in with me!
  • Although I am doing better emotionally this time I still get the baby blues from time to time.  It’s been mild compared to last time but still I have my moments.  Being home 24/7 with three children while trying to homeschool the eldest and keep the middle (and suddenly sassy and defiant) one from smothering the baby . . . not to mention putting up with my senile dog who has a terrible allergy/itching problem . . . well, it’s enough to drive anyone insane.  I think I’m holding it together pretty well so far!
  • I can’t believe Christmas is right around the corner.  I am trying to remind myself about what is REALLY important during the holidays.  Money will be very tight around here this year because I am not working for about 7 weeks or so.  So I am trying to think of meaningful and frugal gift ideas for the few people that we want to give gifts to this year.
  • I am seriously worried that I will not be able to teach Madalyn how to read.  I don’t know why I am so concerned about it (she is still 3 years old after all) but it is one of those worries in the back of my head.
  • I need some better accessible clothing for breastfeeding.  I have one “nursing” top that I wear a lot.  We haven’t been out in public a lot yet so it’s been okay but I really need to get some more tops.

Baby girl is about to wake up so I guess I’m off to bed!

4 Responses to “Who needs sleep anyway?”


  1. 1 Heather and Reber November 9, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    1-800-994-9662 is a National Breastfeeding Hotline sponsored by the federal government and you can speak with a lactation consultant for FREE!! They’re available 9am-6pm. I know you know what you’re doing and you’re a nurse but sometimes doctors aren’t the most supportive of breastfeeding and maybe the hotline could help you out with your concerns.

    ALSO all the Mountain Dew is probably making you dehydrated!!

    Good job I’m glad you’re starting to feel better. Take care and keep up the good work!!!

    • 2 lsaufley November 9, 2009 at 11:29 pm

      Thanks Heather! My doc actually recommended last week that I give Layla a bottle of formula after EVERY FEEDING. I didn’t do it. My thought was if I do that then she’ll start expecting it and will just give up on breastfeeding. A bottle certainly is much easier and I could see her refusing to nurse if I did that! And my doc knew how much trouble we were having getting her to take my left breast–for some reason she just doesn’t like that side as much! I told Aaron that I didn’t think my doctor knew much about breastfeeding!

      I have a friend who is a la leche league leader–planning to talk to her when I see her tomorrow!

      And you’ll be happy to know….I have drank a lot of water today! 🙂

  2. 3 Heather and Reber November 11, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    GOOD I’m glad you didn’t listen to your doctor on that! Plus if you did that, your body would know that it didn’t have to make as much milk and then your supply might really drop. I’m so surprised how uninformed most doctors are about breastfeeding. I just work in the WIC office and I feel like they’ve trained me way better than most doctors on the subject. What a good resource you have in your friend…I’m sure she’ll have some good info for you. I forget the number (maybe you already know) but you’re supposed to look for a certain number of wet/poopy diapers to know the baby’s getting enough. I don’t understand anyway why it’s such a big deal. Of course it’s important for babies to gain weight on a steady pace, but people get so bent out of shape about it. Doctors are so quick to recommend formula instead of letting the breastfeeding take its course and get the baby the best nutrition. It’s not like babies are in danger unless they are premature or REALLY dropping weight. Also, so many small kids get put on Pediasure (aka the devil) just because they’re small. I figure they have all their lives to get fat so just let them be small! Then they just drink sugary pediasure all day and it takes even longer for parents to get their kids to eat real food. Ugh. Sorry for the tangent…

    Good job on the water and hope you feel better soon!!

    • 4 lsaufley November 12, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      You are so right! I don’t remember being this concerned with Madalyn and she lost just as much as Layla. BUT Valley Children’s Clinic was much more up to date/old fashioned when it came to treating things. They never recommended formula for the girls and when I looked at Madalyn’s little newborn calendar last night I realized that it took her a month to regain up to her birthweight. She and Layla are very much alike as far as “how” they nurse so I expect she will do the same as Madalyn. And she is having plenty of wet and poopy diapers–in fact she normally has a dirty diaper each time I feed her!

      Thanks for the encouragement! I am feeling much better about things now and I know she’ll catch up soon enough.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

