Lapbooks! Lapbooks! Oh I love me some Lapbooks!

Before last Tuesday I had heard of lapbooks but never actually seen them or been interested in learning about what they are.  One of the mommies from our homeschool playgroup mentioned on Facebook that she had made one with her little boy so I asked her to bring it on Tuesday so I could see one.  It was so cute!  I knew Madalyn would love it and when I got home I started researching online about lapbooking.

There are so many resources online for lapbooking.  Basically a lapbook is a folder, or a notebook, or simply some construction paper folded into a book in which you place all sorts of things about a particular subject.  Kind of like a scrapbook.  Within the folder you might have a mini-book, an accordion book, a pocket to hold a little game, printed poems, etc.  The only limit is your creativity.  They can be very sophisticated–like this one I found on youtube:

Or very simple. One really good resource is Homeschool Share.  There are tons of free stuff for lapbooking.  Things to print out, ideas for laying out your lapbook.  It’s pretty awesome.  Another site I found is Lapbook Lessons.  You have to sign up for this one but it was just a matter of signing up and waiting for an e-mail with my passwork.  They have some pretty cute ones including one I just found for a “Big Sister”.  I may just have to try and put that one together for Madalyn tomorrow.  It is adorable!

So here is our first lapbook.  After I printed and cut everything out it took less than half an hour to put it all together.  Madalyn helped with the gluing and putting the wheel together.  She loves looking at her book and showing it to others!

Here is the outside.  We haven’t done anything creative on it yet.  I just let Madalyn write on it!

Mouse-Lapbook-2

And this is it opened up.  To the top left is just a picture of the front of the book.  Underneath that is a flip up book of different nursery rhymes about mice.  In the middle is the story wheel.  Madalyn is almost able to tell the whole story by herself using this wheel.  Underneath that is a flip book with different things that start with M (and the letters were traceable so she could practice writing).  To the top right are a few vocabulary words and underneath that is a pocket for her cookie match game (the pieces are on the table) . In just a few days she is already recognizing her numbers (I am sad to say she couldn’t recognize any of them before we did this project!).

Mouse-Lapbook

All the pieces to this I found online except the vocab words and that took me about 5 minutes to put together myself.  We already are planning several more of these.  In fact I need to get to Office Depot and pick up some colorful file folders today!

If you haven’t tried lapbooking you SHOULD!

3 Responses to “Lapbooks! Lapbooks! Oh I love me some Lapbooks!”


  1. 1 Amanda October 24, 2009 at 10:45 am

    How cool! Maybe I can get my aide to make a set of pumpkin ones for my kindergarten class 🙂

  2. 2 Alison October 25, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I keep meaning to do some of these. They’re are on our main game plan for Charlotte’s PreK next year. Have you seen http://lapbooksbycarisa.homestead.com/TotSchool.html? Cute blog, the writer homeschools her children (she and her DH are inner-city missionaries in Philly I think…)

  3. 3 alegnacb November 13, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Glad you discovered and tried lapbooks. There are oodles of free lapbooks online, as I discovered as I started compiling alphabetized links of them at my Love_to_Lapbook Yahoo group.


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

