My C-Section Birth Plan

With both of my daughters my OB-GYN up in Virginia had a birth plan that was given to us that we filled out and took to the hospital with us.  The nurses read it, filled out a little card with our wishes on it and attached it to the baby’s bassinet.

This time I have not received anything.  Nothing.  Nada.  No way to make my wishes known to the nursing staff.  So I am taking it upon myself to write my own birth plan and bring it in.  I am very blessed that my childhood friend, Susie, is going to be in the OR with me–as my nurse anesthetist.  That makes me feel so much more comfortable about the surgery!  I am honestly dreading the surgery this time.  I am trying to stay positive but it is hard with the memories of my last one so fresh in my head.  I am praying for an uneventful, complication-free delivery and that I will be able to go home after 48 hours.

Anyway, here are a few things that I am including on my birth plan–some of which I have discussed with my doctor already.

C-Section

  • Urinary catheter put in AFTER spinal inserted (best thing I ever did was request this with Madalyn)
  • Aaron present at ALL times (with the last 2 he wasn’t allowed in the room until my spinal was in–this time I want him there the entire time)
  • Photos allowed (haven’t asked my doc about this one…nurse at the hospital said it is all up to the doc and they are all different.  We didn’t with Annagrace but did with Madalyn.  I treasure those photos of Madalyn!)
  • Hands NOT strapped down (they were with Annagrace, but were not with Madalyn)
  • Sutures NOT staples (already told my doctor this one but I’ll remind him before.  I had sutures with both girls but had to request it with Madalyn).
  • Want to hold Layla in the delivery room (sort of held Annagrace but didn’t get to hold Madalyn at all because I was so drugged and out of it)
  • No family (other than Aaron) allowed to hold the baby before I am able to . . . and I want to be there when the girls hold her for the first time.
  • Breastfeeding as soon as possible in the recovery room
  • If able I want to sit up at the bedside the first night and I want to get up out of the bed as soon as possible the following morning (with Madalyn they let me lay there and lay there and lay there and finally when my doctor came in SHE helped me get up out of bed!).

Baby Care after Birth

  • NO erythromycin eye drops or ointment.
  • NO Vitamin K injection.
  • NO Hep B vaccine.
  • Breastfeeding ONLY.  No bottle, no pacifiers.
  • Me or Aaron with the baby at all times.
  • 24 hour rooming in

That’s about all I can think of at the time.  I am making a sign for the bassinet about the eye drops and shots.  We were talking about this at playgroup and three of the moms there did not have any eye drops or shots either and they all told me to tell every single nurse who comes in the room what my wishes are.  I also plan to have Aaron with the baby at ALL times that I am not with her and I have given him instructions to be strong and not let them talk him into anything that we don’t want.

Oh me oh my.  3 more days.  I have several small things to finish up around the house and a few more things I need to throw in my suitcase but otherwise I am ready!

2 Responses to “My C-Section Birth Plan”


  1. 1 Heather and Reber October 31, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Laura, Have you ever read the book Calm My Anxious Heart written by Linda Dillow? I loved that book…Michelle S. recommended it to me. I don’t know how guys can do that…they never seem to worry about anything but you’re right, it can be so crippling sometimes. I have to remind myself that what will happen will happen no matter what I do, so there’s no use worrying about what MIGHT happen. Too much life to live to spend time worrying!!

  2. 2 Heather and Reber October 31, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Oops I’m a doofus, I meant to leave that comment under the other post! I actually made up a sign just for fun at work for a baby’s bed that says “Don’t put a bottle in my mouth or I’ll bust you in yours.” It makes me so mad how much work it takes for new moms NOT to get a bottle stuck in their baby’s mouth!


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

