Old Virginia

Boy has life been BUSY lately!  It’s pretty bad when you think to yourself, “Maybe when the baby comes things will calm down a little bit.”!  But that is exactly what I have been thinking lately!

Last weekend we were able to travel up to Virginia to visit with family and friends.  It was a nice trip.  We stayed with my in-laws for the weekend and my sister-in-law was also in town (she lives in Kentucky) so it was nice for all of us to be together.

This was taken on my father-in-laws farm.  I miss these pretty Virginia sunsets!

Sunset-Virginia

We stayed in my in-laws cabin on the river.  The girls enjoyed it and Aaron and I did as well.  My father-in-law built the cabin several years ago and he has a lot of people stay the night there.  It’s simple but cute.  He has a living area downstairs with two couches, a dining room table, a fridge and a microwave.  There is a nice deck out back that looks out over the river.  Then there are outside stairs that lead up to a bedroom with two beds and a loveseat.  There is no running water but there is a bathroom that is around the back of the cabin.  He has a composting toilet  in there and actually it doesn’t smell at all and is fairly clean!  So the only bad part for a very pregnant woman is when it’s time to get up in the middle of the night to pee you have to walk down the outside stairs and around to the back of the cabin.  Luckily I was able to hold it each day until 7am when it was light out!

On Saturday we got up early and the girls and I along with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law met my former boss for breakfast at Cracker Barrel.  Janice was a great boss and a great friend and she and Annagrace always had a special relationship.  It was nice to see her and get caught up on life.  She recently got married and left for her honeymoon to Spain on Saturday evening!

After breakfast we went to the Shenandoah Farmer’s Market because I just had to get some homemade Pumpkin Butter and some Kettle Korn.  Kettle Korn rocks!  I had never heard of it until we moved to Virginia but it is delicious!  It’s not like the nasty Orville Redenbacher stuff in the bags.  This is homemade, fresh, straight out of the kettle, Kettle Korn!  It is lightly salted with just enough sugar.  Yummy!

After the farmer’s market we went to the Green Valley Book Fair–which is a MUST if you are ever passing through during the times that the book fair is going on.  I bought lots of books for not a lot of money!  Most hardback novels are around $4.  I got Madalyn two of her favorites–“The Day I Became a Pirate” and “Pirates Don’t Change Diapers” for her birthday and only paid $5.50 a peice for them.

Then we were off to visit my friend and former co-worker, Pam.  She and her hubby have a horse farm and they had a new baby born a month ago.  They also have 3 pregnant mares who are all due very soon!  I thought this would be a great chance for the girls to learn about horses.  They loved it!  Annagrace asked some very good questions and we all (even the adults!) learned a thing of too.  Anyone else know what a “gelding” is?  Now I do too!

Here are Pam, “Aunt” Steph and Madalyn with Sandy who is one of the new mamas!  Her baby was born a month early and had been a twin.  The twin died and she went on to deliver a tiny little baby!  Pam said it was unusual for a pony to live after being born that early but with a lot of TLC from Pam and her hubby, Randy, Shadow the pony is thriving!

Steph-and-mad-with-horseAnd here is Annagrace with one of the other horses.  They have a ton of horses on their farm!  They are Mountain Pleasure horses.

AG-with-horse

On Sunday we went up to visit with our friends at Discovery Christian Church.  When Aaron and I pulled up to our friend’s house we both looked around and thought, “Wow–we don’t know half these people–that’s awesome!”.  It was so nice to catch up with the ones who were there.

That afternoon we took Annagrace over to visit her friends, Ally and Jordan.  Ally lived down the street from us and Jordan is her cousin.  They all went to school together and were best buddies!  They didn’t know we were coming and they were so excited!  I haven’t seen Annagrace smile so much since we moved!  She was so happy to be with her friends again!  They asked her to spend the night and of course we couldn’t say no!  She had the best time and Aaron and I enjoyed catching up with their moms Sabrina and Chrissy (who are sisters).

3-Musketeers

The little three musketeers together again!  Such sweet little girls.  Annagrace sure does miss them!

Of course Madalyn spent the afternoon outside torturing playing with the  cats.  She LOVES cats.  Glad she can enjoy other people’s cats because we will never have a cat in this house.  Sorry.  Not a cat fan.  Can you see the look of fear in this poor kitten’s eyes?!

Mad-and-the-cat

And since I just happened to have my camera and there was a precious baby (Ally’s sister) there and nice lighting coming in the dining room window I took some photos.  Here is 6 month old baby Londyn.  She has the most amazing eyelashes!

Londyn

I also got to see my friend, Christy over the weekend.  She is the owner of  Taylor Made Organics.  I had mentioned on her facebook page that I wanted to buy some of her Pumpkin Sugar Body Scrub and she surprised me with a little gift pack of that and some of the Calendula/Chamomille lotion (to use on the baby!).  I was so surprised and grateful!  I LOVE the pumpkin scrub.  It isn’t too overly sweet smelling and doesn’t have that “fake” pumpkin smell that some lotions and things do.  It has a nice fresh pumpkin smell and really makes my skin feel smooth!  I highly recommend her products!   Aaron wanted to know what was in it so I read the ingredients to him and he said, “Wow–I know what all of that stuff is”!  I told him it’s so good for you you could eat it and it wouldn’t hurt a thing!

So that was our busy weekend!  We drove back on Labor Day and did a little bit of homeschool stuff on the ride back.  Tuesday I had to work so my mom watched the girls (and Annagrace did all her homeschool work by herself and didn’t even complain!).  Then today we had homeschool co-op registration, then pottery class, then back home to do schoolwork all afternoon.  Annagrace did really well today and didn’t complain too terribly much!

0 Responses to “Old Virginia”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

