Because I need a break

So Week 2 Day 2 in the school of Saufley has not gone so well.  Let’s just say teacher and student were both in tears by 9 a.m. and teacher was threatening to call the public school system and have student enrolled.  It was not pretty.  After a talk with the “principal” (Aaron) things got a little better for both of us but still it has been a rough day.

Annagrace is having difficulty with getting used to the new structure.  She thinks that if the work she has to do is not fun then it must be busy work and she doesn’t want to do it.  Which leads to whining.   And fussing and fighting.  And tears.

Anyway . . . I am taking a break and thought this would be good to get my mind off of things.  This is totally copied from Lindsey’s blog (and she copied it from this blog).

1. Do you cook every night?
Who, me?  Umm . . . . NO.  I like cooking and I try to cook more often since I am home more now but Aaron has always been good about helping out–especially with me being pregnant.

2. What kind of laundry detergent do you use & why?
I have recently started using Charlie’s Soap because it’s gentle and biodegradable and lasts for a long time.  But I will still pick up other stuff if I can get it really cheap with coupons.

3. Do you do laundry every day or loads at a time?
Usually do a couple loads a day but I have been known to let them pile up and then I’ll do about 5 at one time.  I hate laundry!

4. How often do you eat out per week?
Used to be really frequently (like 2-3 times per week).  But recently I have been trying to watch my spending more closely (thanks to the Spend Nothing August challenge) and we’ve been eating at home more.  We do usually eat out if we have company in town (like last week).  And when we have church at our house we sometimes order pizza.

5. Where do you usually eat out?
Depends on what coupons I have at the time!  But if I had my choice it would be McAlister’s or Ruby Tuesday.

6. What is your favorite retail store?
Anyone who knows me knows I love Target!  Although I have to say the Target here is a huge disappointment compared to the one up in Harrisonburg!  Looking forward to the Super Target to open here.  And it will be about 2 minutes away from home.  Could be dangerous.

7. What’s your favorite thing to drink?
McAlister’s Sweet Tea.  Yum-O!  I also love Pepsi though that comes and goes.  I’ll drink a lot of it and get sick of it and then not drink it for awhile.

8. Do you take vitamins? What kind?
My prenatal vitamins although I haven’t taken one in quite awhile.  I’m horrible at remembering to take medicine and also the prenatals have a tendency to induce morning sickness!

9. What percentage of the household chores to you do?
I’d say about 80-90%.  Aaron helps straighten the living room when he gets home and he’s good about helping with the dishes.  And he is in charge of the garbage and mowing the yard!

10. Do your children do chores? {Or will they, did they, etc}
They both help clean their rooms (although sometimes it takes a lot of prodding to get them to do it!).   We had a chore chart and I haven’t kept up with it very well.  I need to get it out and get it going again.

11. Do you go to church?
Well . . . I don’t really have far to go since we have a house church that meets in our home!  But yes, I go in the living room for church!

12. Do you have a housework schedule?
Not really.  My kitchen floor is scrubbed at least once a week.  The laundry is done as it accumulates.  I try to clean the bathrooms once a week but sometimes I let it go 2 weeks.  I vacuum at least once a week and dust about every other week.  I am terrible about changing the sheets on the bed–especially the girls sheets!

13. Do you keep a working budget?
Aaron does . . . but honestly I have been very hands off in that department.  Although since I have been home and I am paying the bills now it is helping me to see where our spending is going and it helps me to stay focused on not spending so much.

14. What do you do at night as a family?
Aaron reads one of Annagrace’s homeschool lessons with her.  We sometimes watch a movie.  Aaron and Annagrace love to play games.

15. How do you prepare yourself for a new week?
We have two dry erase calendars in the kitchen.  One is a family calendar and the other is for our homeschool stuff.  The homeschool calendar is really for Annagrace so she can see what we are studying, what days I am working and who will be babysitting, when we are going on field trips, etc.  Our other calendar has our family activities on it and I include doctor’s appointments and other “mom and dad” appointments on it.

16. What do your mornings look like?
I usually get up around 7:30 or so.  I try to be showered, dressed and ready for school to start by 8:15.  At 8:15 I get Annagrace up for the day and she does some independent work while I fix breakfast.  We start schoolwork  and then Madalyn usually makes her way downstairs around 9:00 or so.  We do schoolwork until at least 12 when I fix lunch.

17. What time do you get up in the mornings?
Usually around 7:30.  Sometimes later depending on how I am feeling!

18. What time do you go to bed at night?
Usually I get in bed by 10:30 or 11–sometimes earlier if I’m reading to the girls but I usually read until I fall asleep and sometimes that is after midnight.

19. How do you manage all of the paperwork that floods into your household? {bills, school work, magazines, ads, etc}
Bills were being filed in our filing cabinet and moved to a paid folder once they were paid but after reading Lindsey’s post I have started a binder for bills!  School work is all organized in our “school room” which is the breakfast nook in the kitchen.  Magazines are everywhere!!!  When I have time I will sort through them and tear out the articles that I want to keep and put them in one of 4 three ring binders that I have.  I have a fitness/health binder, a family/kids binder, a home inspiration binder and a scrapbook/craft binder.  I have page protectors in these and I just slip the articles that I like in them.  Coupons are also organized in a binder using baseball card holders.  I have it sectioned  by areas of the grocery store.  I admit though that I get terribly behind on organizing them–it is not my favorite thing to do!  Important papers are filed in our filing cabinet.

20. How do you keep your household organized? {calendars, charts, etc}
See above!  I couldn’t live without my calendars!  I also carry a red leather calendar in my purse to keep track of things.  I feel lost without it and with my pregnancy brain I’d never remember anything without it!

Week 2 Day 2 Part 2:

Went to homeschool playgroup.  Annagrace was having tough time fitting in today.  Not sure what it was all about but she kept saying she didn’t want to play what the other girls were playing and I kept finding her off to herself on the playground.  I went over to talk to her about it and another little girl came over and asked Annagrace if she had something she wanted to play instead.  They decided to play with Annagrace’s American Girl doll and after that things seemed to improve.  All the girls came over and played together then and Annagrace seemed much happier when we left.  The girls (and the moms!) in the group are all really nice and I think it just may take a few more weeks for Annagrace to really feel like part of the group.  One of the moms told me that her daughter really liked playing with Annagrace and that she hoped that we would keep coming to playgroup!

Madalyn on the other hand is having a great time!  She is just fascinated with her new friend Andre.  She loves this little boy!  It’s kind of funny.  When we got there today and he hadn’t arrived yet she said, “I want my other boy here!”.  So cute!  He’s a little handful which is why I think they get along so well together!

4 Responses to “Because I need a break”


  1. 1 carlee Russell September 1, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    We have had the same kind of issue with Mckenna–if it’s boring there is no way she should have to do it. And I get the lovely whine: I didn’t have to do this at school last year! My answer–you were in 1st and now you are in 2nd, of course you didn’t do it–hasn’t worked any wonders yet.

    I have discovered a couple things that have helped.

    1. I let her pick which subject to do first. Then she can’t complain because she picked it.

    2. I try to give her hands on stuff that is related. i.e. she was writing a paragraph on her pet, so I let her go do tricks with the dog for 10 minutes and then come back and write.

    3. Individual white boards ($2 at Target!). She will do a whole lot more stuff if she can do it on the white board and pick her marker color. Erasing is fun too!

    I loved your picture from last week of washing the doll clothes and hanging them to dry. I am definitely going to do that with my preschooler!

    • 2 lsaufley September 2, 2009 at 6:30 am

      @Carlee–I’ve been trying to let her start choosing what she wants to do. She always leaves math for last and then she drags her feet and doesn’t want to do it. I showed her the computer math program she is going to start doing next week and she really liked it so I know things will get better when she starts that. Last night she prayed for God to help her have a good day of homeschooling even if “mom gives me math that I already know how to do”. She’s a mess.

  2. 3 sarah September 3, 2009 at 12:36 am

    you are SO brave to home school!! it takes much more brains and patience than i could ever have – best of luck!

  3. 4 carlee Russell September 4, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Oh, Mckenna did the same thing yesterday–left her least favorite for math and “ran out of time.” Sigh. They sure are clever. It’s frustrating when you can try all the tricks and all the things you think should help, and they don’t. So, I will be praying. Here’s hoping next week is better.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

