First Day of Homeschool: DONE

Today we started a new chapter in our lives as a homeschooling family.  If  you had told me 2 years ago that we would end up homeschooling I would have seriously laughed in your face.  We had a few friends who homeschooled and I always thought that they were doing it to “shelter” their children.  Then we made some new friends who homeschooled, then another friend started homeschooling . . . and suddenly it didn’t seem so weird anymore!

I was very nervous last week just thinking about it.  Was I doing the right thing?  Are my kids going to be scarred for life?  Are they going to end up being stupid?!  But today went very well.  Better than I was expecting in fact!

I had decided that we would start each day this week at 9:00.  Well I was up at 7:30 and Annagrace was up at 8:15–all dressed and in the kitchen raring to go!  I had her go to her room and read while I made breakfast and then we started our day a few minutes before 9.

I had planned a few activities for Madalyn (practicing the letter “M”, identifying family members names, coloring) but by 10:30 she was ready to get on the computer!  I let her play on Starfall (practicing the letter “M” a little more) and then on Barbie.com.  (We soon realized that she needs a pair of headphones so we picked some up this afternoon!).  She was really, really good!  I was very impressed!

I think that Annagrace is “detoxing” from public school and when I told her at 12 that we were almost done she kept saying, “Really?”.  And “You mean all my friends are still in school for 2 more hours and we are done?”.  It was kind of funny.  She needs a lot of work to stay interested and she HATES anything that may be considered “busy” work so we have to keep things moving along quickly so she doesn’t get bored!

Here is our tentative schedule for the next few weeks . . . however this is subject to change on a daily basis which is one thing that I LOVE about homeschooling!

7:30:  Mom up and at ’em.  Breakfast cooking.  E-mail and Facebook checked.
8:15:  Annagrace and Madalyn both up and dressed.  Breakfast time!
9:00:  Bible reading, practice/review/write memory verse
9:20:  Spelling and Handwriting (Annagrace is so excited that she can write in cursive this year!)
9:50:  Language Arts (review for the first 2 weeks and then we will move to a computer based program)
10:30:  Break & Snack Time
10:45:  Math (review for the first 2 weeks and then we will also go to a computer based program for this)
11:15:  Science and Geography (using My Father’s World curriculum)
11:40:  “Challenge” stuff on Mondays (using Moving Beyond the Page curriculum–right now she is studying the 50 states and working on her postcard notebook), Art on Wednesdays, Music on ???? day (still need to call about getting her in piano lessons at the Music Academy), Quiz time on Fridays

Tuesdays will be homeschool play group and library day in the afternoon (play group is at the church next door to the library which is so convenient).  Wednesdays will be “substitute teacher” day–my Mom will be helping out until the baby is born and then Aaron will take over a day a week.  And Thursday will be her “really, really light” day (we are doing this on a 4 day schedule).  Most weeks I will be working Wednesdays and Thursdays so we’ll only have to have childcare one day a week.

Aaron helped out this evening by reviewing some Science stuff with her and Annagrace quizzed us on the state capitals at supper time (that was interesting!).  I think I’ll leave one thing or project for him to do with her each evening when he gets home.

Anyway….will try to post some first (well, second) day photos tomorrow.  We didn’t take many today because it was so busy!

4 Responses to “First Day of Homeschool: DONE”


  1. 1 Alison August 25, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Very interesting! So you guys aren’t doing the LA and Math from MFW? What computer program are you using?

    • 2 lsaufley August 26, 2009 at 10:54 am

      I didn’t really care for the recommended LA stuff from MFW. I am going to use the Spelling Power program that they recommended and we are planning on using Alpha/Omega for LA and Teaching Textbooks for math. TT just came out with a 4th grade edition. I was able to see it at the conference and it is pretty impressive. It is taught on the computer and the student can go problem by problem with the book and if they don’t understand a problem you can go directly to that one and see how to work it out. I am doing some review this week and next week though because I want to be sure she is ready for 4th grade math. She tested at 4th grade level on the TT website but I don’t want to push her too much especially this first year.

  2. 3 Alison August 28, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I just saw your reply. I’m curious about *what* in particular you didn’t like about Singapore math and the LA (for future reference ;). If you don’t want to put it here, message me on facebook…I’d like to hear your opinion.

    • 4 lsaufley August 28, 2009 at 3:47 pm

      I picked up the language arts books that they recommended at the conference and I just thought that they felt too “old fashioned” for Annagrace. I didn’t look at the math they recommended very closely. I really liked the TT math when I saw it so we’re going to try that. I like that the A/O stuff is on the computer too. We needed some computer curriculum to give me a break when the baby gets here!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

