Whaddya think?

I was going to blog about this new breastfeeding doll last week but changed my mind.  Then my friend and fellow blogger Amanda did blog about it (and this is totally NOT a stab at her.  I am just curious to hear my reader’s opinions!).  If you are interested in reading my opinion, I left the first comment over on the post on Amanda’s blog post.

Any thoughts on this?

I just have one quick comment to make then PLEASE leave your thoughts and comments.  I’d love to hear them!

One article I just read said that the doll “sexualizes” girls at a young age and will make them want to have babies at a young age.  What?  Are you kidding me?  I mean, really.  Have you seen the clothes that are sold at Target in the “little girls” section these days?  I haven’t heard an uproar about those clothes “sexualizing” young girls.  Or Bratz or Barbies or Hannah Montana sexualizing young girls.  Why this doll?  Why is it getting such flack?

And further more, why would this doll make a girl want to have a baby early in life but no other doll before it has ever done that?  As a child, I didn’t dream of becoming a mother because my doll could pee or poop or bottle feed or breastfeed.  It’s just a natural instinct for SOME women to want to have children.  A doll isn’t going to influence a young girl to want to be a teen mom and it certainly isn’t going to cause her to be promiscuous at a young age either.  Let’s not give the doll more credit than it is worth.  I think Hollywood does waaaayyyy more to promote teen sex than any doll can!  Where is the outrage over “16 and Pregnant” or “The Secret Life of an American Teen?!

Off my soapbox and on to bed.  Please comment away!

3 Responses to “Whaddya think?”


  1. 1 Alison August 13, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    My thoughts: kids don’t need a special doll to pretend to be mommy breastfeeding. Charlotte nursed monkeys, baby dolls, wooden cars, whatever would be handy (and she nursed them from her belly button, BTW). A special crying doll w/ 14 batteries and a special bra just isn’t my idea of a toy a child needs. Kids have these special things, um, there called imaginations…someone forgot to tell the toy industry this fact.

    But as far as the appropriateness of this doll, not an issue. Some of the same people that have a problem with this wouldn’t think twice about buying bikinis for toddlers, miniskirts for middle schoolers, and watch any number of inappropriate things, expose there kids to certain suggestive music…..etc etc…you see where I am going? We pick the weirdest places to take a moral stand on what our kids are exposed to! This is a NORMAL and NATURAL life function (albeit commercialized shamelessly here). People don’t think twice about buying a doll that poops and pees…and we can’t do that in public!

  2. 2 Alison August 13, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    BTW, I count at least two incorrect usages of there/they’re/their up above and it’s driving me nuts.

  3. 3 Heather and Reber August 13, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Yeah, Alison! I agree with everything you said. I think anyone who has an opinion at all about this doll is overthinking it. I had a doll with a BOTTLE of ORANGE JUICE as a kid (the kind that disappeared into the top) and I didn’t think twice about it until a couple months ago (and that was after working in the WIC office for 3 years).


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

