Buy Nothing Month: August 2009

 
Buy Nothing Challenge - August 2009 

I love reading The Crunchy Chicken blog.  Albeit some of her ideas and challenges are a little umm . . . out there for me.  Check out her Golden Showers Golden Party . . . seriously–click the link and check it out.  Let’s just say that was a challenge that I was NOT going to even THINK about participating in!  But I do like her Buy Nothing Challenges.  

Here’s the deal-e-o. . . for the month of August you are challenged to buy nothing.  Here are the guidelines, copied and pasted from her blog.  

For the month of August you can buy: 

* No new clothes
* No new gadgets
* No new furniture or housewares
* No salon services
* No makeup
* No tools
* No whatever the hell else people buy

School supplies are okay as well as supplies needed for canning.  And if you already have a vacation planned . . . well that’s acceptable too.  The idea is to really evaluate every dollar that you spend.  If you absolutely need something then you must borrow, barter or buy it used.  

So who is up for the challenge?!  I’m signing myself up.  I have been trying really hard to cut back so this is coming at a great time for me.  Looking ahead to August, I do know of a few things that I will have to spend a little cash on.  We will be on vacation for a week and I know we’ll go to the movies at least once that week (mom and I both want to see “The Time Traveler’s Wife”).  In preparation for that, I’m going to allow myself only a certain amount to spend for the week total.  There are also some homeschool things that I still need to purchase and I need some paint for the dining room (and I will check out what I already have as well as the Habitat Re-Store first before purchasing any!).  Otherwise, I am going to try REALLY hard to stick to this.  

Let me know if you’re joining the challenge.  I’m heading over to The Crunchy Chicken to sign up!

5 Responses to “Buy Nothing Month: August 2009”


  1. 1 Aaron July 22, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    So… does this exclude any 24 piece sets?

  2. 3 Baker Family July 25, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Funny…D and I just had a convo like this today. I asked “Have you noticed how CAREFUL I’ve been lately? I haven’t been spending money for much.” I did buy clothes when I started my new business, but otherwise I’ve been very thrifty! Coupons, freebies, etc have helped too! This is a good way to live…every month!

  3. 4 Heather and Reber July 25, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    We are pretty sure we do this most months!! I get my shopping kicks with groceries. Oh BTW I sold like $30 worth of extra CVS stuff (at $1 each so about 30 items) at the yard sale : )

  4. 5 lsaufley July 25, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I’m glad if y’all can do it most months! I like to spend money too much. But Heather C–I know you hate shopping so it’s probably easier for you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

