Recipe: Chicken Victoria

This is a delicious recipe that my mother-in-law introduced to us.  It is yummy!  I don’t make it that often (it isn’t the cheapest thing to make) but it sure is good and Aaron loves it!

Chicken Victoria

Ingredients:

4-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 can golden mushroom soup (make sure it’s the golden)
1 small carton of sour cream
1/2 pkg dried chipped beef
6 peices of bacon

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Place layer of chipped beef in bottom of greased baking dish.  Wrap one peice of bacon around each peice of chicken and lay in bottom of dish.  Mix soup and sour cream together and pour over chicken.  Bake for 2 hours covered.  Remove and sprinkle with paprika, then replace in the oven and cook for another 30 minutes.

Tips:  I don’t always cook it the full 2 1/2 hours–last night I only cooked it for 2 hours, removing the cover at 1.5 hours.  I buy the little jars of dried beef and only use about half of it then I have enough that I can make it again later in the month.  Be sure you use the golden mushroom soup and not the cream of mushroom soup–big difference there.  The recipe actually calls for 12 chicken breasts but I never make that much–however I use the same amount of sauce because I think the more sauce the better.  You could totally omit the bacon and still have a great meal–but I think the chipped beef really adds a lot of flavor so I wouldn’t omit that!

This is really good chicken and it just falls apart when you eat it!

0 Responses to “Recipe: Chicken Victoria”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

