Baby Names–take the Poll!

How much fun is it to name a baby?!  I think it’s a lot of fun.  A little stressful too–I mean, this kid is going to have to live with this name forever.  What if he/she hates it?  What if someone comes up with a stupid nickname for him/her?  So much to think about!

With Annagrace we had almost decided she would be Hannah Grace.  BUT I wanted her to have a “double name” and I thought calling her Hannah Grace was just too much.  That and I suspected that people would never call her “Hannah Grace” and would just call her “Hannah”!  I was reading a Parents magazine one day and saw the name “Marygrace” and I thought, “Aha!”  We’ll just smoosh it together.  But I just couldn’t name her “Hannahgrace”–way too long!  So we went with Annagrace instead!  I love it.  I have always loved her name.  I get so many compliments on it too!  We went back and forth for awhile on her middle name and I had decided that I really liked Rebekah but Aaron had shot down every other name I had come up with so I didn’t mention it to him.  I remember lying in bed one night and out of the blue Aaron said, “How about Rebekah?”.  And of course I said, “Yes!  That was what I was thinking!”.

Then we found out 3 years later that we were having another little girl!  I loved the name Madalyn.  I don’t know where I had seen or heard it (I had never met anyone else with that name before) but I loved it.  Aaron wasn’t so sure.  He didn’t like it, and then he did.  Back and forth.  After our ultrasound when we found out that we were having another girl we came home and he wrote “Madalyn” on his whiteboard and said, “Okay.  Let’s name her Madalyn.”  We quickly picked out Faith for her middle name.  We figured we had a “Grace” so we’d also have a “Faith” in the family!  So Madalyn Faith it was!  Since then I have had a few older patients (one was 98 years old!) named Madalyn and I just love how classic and timeless her name is!  I don’t think it will ever go out of style!

So here we are 3 more years later and we’re having another little GIRL!  I am so excited!  This is the first time that I have had to look through baby name books and websites to find names.  We had a boys name picked out for 8 years (Elijah Thomas) but that will have to be retired since this will most likely be our last child!  One night at work I was looking through baby names and I came up with a list.  Funny how I’m drawn to names with “y” in them!

Kade
Kayde
Maya
Briley/Brylee
Kaiya/Kaya
Layla
Kamila
Miriam
Amelia
Jordan/Jordyn

After lots of talking about it (and “using” it from time to time) we finally have decided on a name.   Wanna guess which one we chose?


2 Responses to “Baby Names–take the Poll!”


  1. 1 Willis June 14, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Layla comes with a built in classic Clapton song too.

  2. 2 Bankruptcy Ben June 24, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Madalyn is French. Typically spelt Madeleine as in Madeleine Albright.

    I do like Miriam 🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

