Washington Summer Festival 2009

The Summer Festival in Washington has been a tradition for 25 years.  I used to go almost every summer when I was little and the last time I have been was the summer after my senior year of high school which was oh, at LEAST 5 or so years ago!  LOL!  I was glad that I had the night off and the girls (who were fighting fevers the night before) were feeling better.  We had such a good time!

There was a lot of food (we tried the cotton candy, a funnel cake, a caramel apple, a homemade orangeade and Italian ice!), vendors (including one that I really liked but I’ll post about that later), rides, games and fireworks!   We had our girls and my cousin Madison with us.  It was not too hot last night and really wasn’t that crowded.  I was happy to see some folks I knew–including some friends from high school that I haven’t seen in almost 15 years!

Here are some photos of the evening!

I can’t believe Annagrace got on this ride!  It’s one that lifts you way up in the air and then just drops you.  She didn’t scream at all–I think it just happened so fast she didn’t have time to scream!

Madison-and-AG-Summer-Fest

I love seeing their little feet dangling in the air!

Mad-and-AG-Summer-Fest

Madalyn’s favorite ride–she rode this twice!

Madalyn-on-carousel

Fireworks on the Pamlico Sound:

Fireworks

Such fun times!  Makes me happy to be back in North Carolina!

2 Responses to “Washington Summer Festival 2009”


  1. 1 Jennifer June 13, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    So, I love the picture of Madalyn riding on the carousel. I just got my dslr today. Do you mind sharing how you were able to capture the image?

    • 2 lsaufley June 14, 2009 at 9:09 am

      Sure! It’s pretty easy–I just wish I could have got her in focus a little better! You have to lock your focus on your moving subject and then as the subject is moving you pan your camera along with it. So you are actually moving right along with the subject. This will keep the focus on the subject and will make that “movement” blur in the background! Does that make sense?!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

