Bathroom Remodel

We moved a month ago this week.  It has gone by so fast!  In the flurry of unpacking and starting new jobs, finishing home school and about 100 other things I decided that I could not stand our downstairs bathroom any longer and got to work on painting and cheaply remodeling it!  It looks sooooo much better!

I don’t know what it is about this color blue.  When we moved to our last house the downstairs bathroom was a hideous blue color.  So imagine my surprise when we found this house and the downstairs bathroom was almost the same color!  I made it liveable for the first month by adding an old curtain I had and even a picture on the wall.  But it just wasn’t me.

BR-before-1

BR-before-2

The previous homeowners were terrible painters!  Seriously–almost every room is this bad.  I have a lot of work on my hands!  It was even on the bathroom tile and I had to scrape it off.  There is still blue showing on the shower tile and I need to get in and scrape it off too!

BR-paint-job

If you ever saw my old bathroom then this will look very familiar!  It’s the same color, same curtain, cabinets painted the same and even the layout of the room is the same!  I replaced the light fixture and switchplate covers, bought a new towel rack and painted the cabinet black!  The wall is a pretty sage green that matches the shower curtain.

BR-after-1

BR-after-2

Eventually I want to replace that counter top.  I love the sink and the faucet but hate that ugly formica!  At least it’s a neutral color!  I still need another hinge for the right side cabinet (and need to add the knob to it!) and I need something to hang over the toilet.  I also plan to paint the mirror black.  I’d love to replace it but they are expensive and actually that mirror fits that space perfectly!

Next project . . . probably the nursery!  I can’t wait to get it organized.  It’s utter chaos in that room right now!

1 Response to “Bathroom Remodel”


  1. 1 Alison June 8, 2009 at 7:50 am

    I think the sloppy painters who did you house did our house. Ours picked horrific colors: bright teal, pinkish purple (master bath!!!)…the list goes on.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

