June Beach Trip

Just got back this afternoon from our quick overnight trip to the beach.  We had a lot of fun!  I’m hoping to get some more photos posted in the next few days.  I will post one tonight from the aquarium.

We love the aquarium!  I remember taking field trips to this same place as a kid.  I decided to buy a year long family membership.  If we only go 2 times this year it will pay for itself.  For a $50 membership fee, two adults and all the children in the family can visit unlimited times to any of the the three NC aquariums along with free admission to about 200 other aquariums and zoos around the country.  The NC Zoo is included so I’m hoping we can visit there in the fall when it’s a little cooler.  Also included is the Norfolk Zoo in Virginia, the local Fossil Museum, and a 50% discount on admission to the Natural Science Museum in Greensboro, NC.  Those are just a few places that I thought we might be interested in but there are a lot more included!  I think it will be worth the $50–and it’s tax deductible so we are not losing anything!

Here is one quick picture that I took at the Aquarium.  Jellyfish sure do hurt when they sting (I’ve been stung at least 3 times in my lifetime) but they look pretty all lit up in a tank!

Jellyfish

Madalyn LOVED the stingray/skate tank!  I had a hard time getting her away from it.  She is not scared of anything and had her little hands in the tank the entire time touching the stingrays and begging them to get closer.  Annagrace had to warm up to the idea but she did manage to touch one.  She didn’t think it was as fun as Madalyn but at least she gave it a try!  I have some cute photos from our trip but for now my soft bed is calling!

2 Responses to “June Beach Trip”


  1. 1 Amanda June 6, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Where and how did you get the family pass? $50 for all those admissions IS a great price and I think we want to do the same this year. We’re in the Norfolk area, but do some trips to North Carolina, so your blog is locally relevant.

    • 2 lsaufley June 7, 2009 at 9:37 pm

      You can purchase one at the aquarium. I’m guessing you might be able to buy one at the zoo as well. How is the Norfolk zoo? I’ve never been there. I thought $50 was totally worth it. You also get 10% off in the gift shop and 10% off on any programs offered by the aquarium. I am hoping we can go down for shark week in August. They have special family nights once a month and that is the theme for August!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

