Bead For Life

Anyone heard of Bead for Life?  I was reading about it on another blog and I am very intrigued.  These Ugandan women make beautiful beads out of recycled magazines.  All the beads are hand rolled and they, of course, are all one of a kind.  Women in America can sign up to host parties to sell the jewelry.  The only people that make money off of this are the Ugandan women.  The hostess gets nothing from hosting other than the joy of raising money for these women living in poverty.  Here is a video about it:

It sounds really neat–you sign up and they sent you a kit with 275 peices of jewelry to sell.  They also send you a DVD, a CD of Ugandan music, and African recipes so you can really be a great hostess for your party!  It’s all free of charge to you as the hostess and they even send you a return label to send your unsold jewelry back.  The jewelry is beautiful and the prices are very reasonable.  (And ya gotta love that it’s all recycled!)

I am thinking this would be a great thing to do once we move!  I can even incorporate homeschooling into it by having Annagrace study about Uganda.  I’m looking forward to it.  I think it sounds like a great organization and I love the fact that all the proceeds go to these women. 

So be on the lookout all my Greenville peeps for your invitations!  I’m thinking of maybe doing this in August but we shall see!

1 Response to “Bead For Life”


  1. 1 parks2593 April 22, 2009 at 6:46 am

    I have heard about this. It sounds interesting! Count me in if you do a party, would love to hear more about it 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

