I Have a Job!

I finally heard back from my interviews last week!  I was offered both the positions that I interviewed for and I chose to accept the part time position on Surgical Oncology.  I will be working alternating shifts (though my manager knows that I prefer nights) and every other weekend (although she told me that it may not even be that many if I end up with straight nights because she has a set crew of straight night nurses on most weekends).  

I am excited to get back to bedside nursing.  It will be an adjustment to me as I have gotten used to having just one patient at a time.  But I am looking forward to the change.  It will be nice when 7pm or 7am comes to just LEAVE and be done.  I don’t have that luxury now.  There are always patients to call, schedules to plan, computer work that needs to be done, voice mails to check.  Even on the weekends and days that I am off now I still have to check my voice mail.  So I really never feel like I am really “off”.  So I am looking forward to that. 

I am a little nervous about doing post-surgery care.  That will be new for me.  We do not do chemo or radiation on this floor (which is what we did at my last inpatient job) although the majority of the patients are oncology patients who are having cancer related surgeries.  And this summer we will start having monitored beds which means I’ll have to learn to read cardiac monitors all over again!  Lot’s of learning to be done!  But I’m a quick learner and a hard worker so I’m looking forward to all of it! 

Still crossing our fingers and praying that our buyers loan issue will be resolved.  The bad thing is that we won’t know for 2 weeks!  Apparently there was a mess up with one digit of a social security number and it gave an incorrect credit score.  The corrected number showed that the wife’s credit score is about 3 points lower than it HAS to be for them to get this loan.  So they paid off some debt and we are now in a waiting game to see if this is going to bring their score up high enough to qualify.  It is nerve wracking!  If this doesn’t bring up their credit score then they will not be able to get the loan they were expecting to get and likely our contract will fall through.  Then . . . we would be STUNNED.  We’d still have to move because of our jobs but we’d have to live with my parents until our house here sells!  And it would make our contract on our new home in NC fall through as well. 

But that isn’t going to happen because God is going to work it out.  I’m trusting Him.  Like my mom said, there is nothing I can do about it at this point (except pray) so I might as well not worry about it!

1 Response to “I Have a Job!”


  1. 1 Cribb April 15, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Woohoo, congratulations! The worst part of any hospital experience was waking up after surgery…MAJOR PAIN TO THE EXTREME. So it was really important to have good nurses in there and thankfully mine were good. Though hopefully most of your patients won’t have had such an extreme procedure, even though it’s more severe health-wise.

    ANYWAY – Hope everything works out for your house!


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

