Annagrace is SEVEN!

Today my oldest daughter celebrates her seventh birthday!  Wow–what a quick seven years this has been.  I thought I’d share a quick story about her birth and some photos from the last 7 years !

My due date with Annagrace was February 9, 2002.  Well that day came and went and I was still pregant–very pregnant–and very tired of being pregnant!  I had morning all day sickness almost everyday of my pregnancy.  Then I started itching and had to have bloodwork to check my liver functions.  Then the back pain.  Oh the back pain.  It was unbearable (and still hasn’t gone away to this day!).  So the week of my due date they wrote me off work and sent me home to wait, and wait, and wait.  I never once had a ‘fake’ contraction.  I never dilated one stinkin’ centimeter.  So there I sat on February 18–NINE DAYS OVERDUE.  I was convinced that the baby was still breech.  She had been that way 2 months earlier at an ultrasound and the doctors never checked again.  They all told me “oh I feel a butt right there” while feeling my upper belly. I KNEW that they were feeling a head.  I knew because I could feel it pushing into my ribs on a constant daily basis!

Anyway–we went in for an appointment on that Monday morning and I told Aaron to put my bags in the car because I was not returning home without a baby in my arms.  The doctor said he was going to do an ultrasound and if things were okay he’d send me for a stress test to check things out.   Well he did the ultrasound.  And there she was–still BREECH.  And not just your typical breech but frank breech–meaning her legs were sticking straight up and were around her head.  So off we went to the hospital and 2 hours later I was getting ready for surgery. 

The c-section was a breeze (compared to Madalyn’s–that’s a story for another day!) and I was back home 2 days later with my little princess.  I was so happy to have her.  I knew–even though the ultrasound techs and the doctors could never tell us for certain–that she was a girl and I started calling her princess while she was still in the womb! 

She was beautiful.  And big.  She weighed 9 pounds 6.5 ounces!  She had a head full of dark hair and dimples on both cheeks.  When she was little I was constantly getting stopped by strangers telling me how beautiful she was!

These are photos taken on or around her birthday.  Some of these are photos taken of photos (I am SO glad that digital cameras were invented!) so excuse the poor quality! 

2003:  ONE YEAR OLD

one-year-old

2004:  TWO YEARS OLD

two-years-old

2005:  THREE YEARS OLD

three-years-old

2006:  FOUR YEARS OLD

four-years-old

2007:  FIVE YEARS OLD

five-years-old

2008:  SIX YEARS OLD

six-years-old

2009:  SEVEN years old

seven-years-old

She is officially now closer to being a teenager than a baby–a fact that I DO NOT LIKE one bit! 

Today is going to be busy!  First I am going to take her to school and eat breakfast with her in the cafeteria.  Then her dad is going to go eat lunch with her.  Then I am going to take cupcakes to share with her classmates.  Tonight we are going to Aaron’s parents house to eat supper.  I’ll probably let her have  one of her presents today but the rest will have to wait until her slumber party on Friday!  She’s having 3 of her best friends over to celebrate.

Happy Birthday “baby” girl!  I love you!

4 Responses to “Annagrace is SEVEN!”


  1. 1 Alison February 18, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    How sweet to see the progression of years! I cannot imagine having a SEVEN year old! I can barely stand that Charlotte will be 3 in a few months!

  2. 2 Melissa February 18, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Hope Annagrace has a wonderful birthday 🙂 She is still a beauty!!

  3. 3 lsaufley February 18, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Thanks y’all!

    @ Alison–oh, it just slips by way too fast! Charlotte will be driving a car before you know it. : )

  4. 4 lsaufley February 19, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    thanks for coming to paw paws and maw maws for one of your birthday celebrations! Paw Paw


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

