Valentine’s Day 2009: Massanutten Waterpark

Last summer I took care of a young patient who happened to work up at Massanutten Resort.  We talked about the waterpark and I mentioned to him that I had not had a chance to take the girls yet.  It was on our list of things we wanted to do but we just didn’t have the money to do it.  The next time I visited him he surprised me with a pass for 4 free admissions!  We didn’t have time at all last year to go so I decided to save the tickets so we could go during the winter instead. 

On Saturday I placed the girls swimsuits in their Valentine’s goody bags underneath all their treats.  Annagrace opened it up and when I asked her why her swimsuit was in there she said, “Cause you’re trying to trick me!”  When I asked her where we might be able to go that she could use a swimsuit her eyes lit up and she said, “Are we going to the waterpark?!”  She was so excited!  Madalyn didn’t really understand other than we were going swimming!  We headed up there around 10:30 and stayed until 3:30.  It was so much fun!!!

ag-waterpark-web

 

madalyn-waterpark-web

ag-waterpark-2

This was one of Madalyn’s favorite parts of the park–the huge bucket that fills up and dumps water out every few minutes!

waterpark-bucket

And she LOVED this red slide!  It took a few times going down to work up the nerve to do it on her own but after she did I think she went up and down about 50 times!  She is a very brave little girl!  Annagrace would never have put her head under at this age but Madalyn just jumps right in like it’s nothing and even puts her head under the water without holding her nose! 

 madalyn-waterpark-2-slide

girls-on-waterpark-slide

So here are my thoughts on the Waterpark.

1)  Lots of fun.  Lots of stuff for even little kids to do.  We loved going on the floating river all together and that seemed to be very family friendly.   I even saw an infant in one of the innertubes with her mom–seriously she couldn’t have been more than 2 months old!

2)  Food is a little pricey but not too bad.  One of my co-workers said that when she goes they leave the park and go down the road to a local fast food place and then come back after lunch.  We didn’t do that because it was cold outside and none of us wanted to get all dressed and then have to come back and get back in our swimsuits afterwards.  We paid about $21 for all four of us to eat there at the park–Aaron and I shared a drink and we really didn’t get that much because we had a big breakfast.  You can bring in food so it wouldn’t be a bad idea to pack lunches.   

3)  If I go again, I will not wear a bathing suit with shorts bottoms.  I love my bathing suit–it’s a tankini with shorts for the bottoms.  It’s great for the beach but it was aggravating in the pools and especially on the slides because when I’d get to the bottom my shorts would be all smooshed up to the top of my thighs–not a pretty sight I’m sure!

4)  I think that it’s a little pricey especially for the winter.  During the summer all the outdoor stuff is open too but it’s the same price whether you go in the winter or the summer.  I think it should be cheaper in the winter.

5)  Locker rental is $10 and then you get $5 back when you return the key.  I think this is a little overrated unless you are like me and needed somewhere to stow your camera.  If you’re only bringing in clothes and towels then I’d just find a chair or table to plop your stuff down–lots of people seemed to do this.  The place is small enough that you can check on your things pretty often. 

6)  There were a lot of lifeguards and they all seemed very helpful and attentive. 

7)  I think they could do without selling alcohol.  Since it’s a family oriented place I think they ought to leave the alcohol sales to the restaurant upstairs.  Just my opinion!  

Overall it was a great experience!  Aaron even said that he had fun–big surprise as he is usually the bump on a log whenever we go anywhere like this–and he told me that I needed to be sure to tell my patient thank you.  I think I’m going to have a couple photos developed and have the girls draw a picture of themselves playing at the waterpark and will send that in a thank you note to him!

5 Responses to “Valentine’s Day 2009: Massanutten Waterpark”


  1. 1 Heather February 17, 2009 at 7:51 am

    We’ve been blessed to be able to go to MWP many times for FREE or a very reduced rate. D used to sell white vans to Mass, so he had inside connections. We know several employees who got us in for free and sometimes they do a $10 special during the winter. The last time we were in, I finally let the boys try the surf ride. It’s dangerous and I’ve seen many people get hurt on it, so I was hesitant. B LOVED it and ended up staying on that one ride most of the day.

    I’m glad you got a chance to visit. It is so pricey and many locals will never go for that reason. They should break up the local area and offer a $10 special to locals once a year…Just a thought.

  2. 2 Alison February 17, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I’m so jealous! I LOVE WATERPARKS! I can’t wait til Charlotte is big enough to take to one. Maybe this summer will be the summer…she’ll be 3. Glad the girls had fun, the pics are super!

  3. 3 ian February 17, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    what a happy family

  4. 4 would love coupons June 18, 2009 at 12:20 am

    im taking my 3 kids in july we couldnt afford a vacation last year so we really want to go this year do you think thers anyway you could help find me a discount code or coupons a family of 5 gets very exspensive , the girls are 6 and 4 and the baby is one

    • 5 lsaufley June 19, 2009 at 9:49 am

      I know that they have discounted rates at certain times–like you can go on a certain evening from 5 until closing and it’s a lot cheaper. Maybe you could look into doing that. Call them and ask if they have any special times where the rates are discounted. They don’t always advertise it but I’m sure they would tell you. You could go hiking or do something up on the mountain during the day, have an early picnic dinner and then go to the park for the discounted evening session. Just a thought. Your 1 year old should be free or close to it. If you can deal with pushy salesmen–they do timeshare presentations and try to get you to purchase one. They give you a lot of freebies for sitting through their sales pitches. Only problem is that they pretty much “own you” for the time you are there. You have to agree to be at their sessions when they tell you to and I hear they can get pretty aggressive.


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

