Slumdog Millionaire: My Vote for Can’t Miss Movie of the Year!

My dear hubby and I went on a date tonight and we went to see “Slumdog Millionaire”. 

Oh.  My.  Word.  SUCH a great movie.  You can not miss seeing this movie.  You will love it.  If, like me, you have been fortunate to visit the beautiful country of India you will REALLY love it.  It is in the top 10 best movies that I have ever seen. 

It brought back a lot of memories for me.  Some good.  Some not so good.  There is a scene in the movie where some kids are learning how to beg and it shows them going out in the streets banging on car doors.  That my friends is real life.  The train stations in India are the home of beggars.  It is very sad.  I loved seeing the countryside of India in this movie–the trains, the Taj Mahal, even the squat toilets.  I love that country.  I love those people.   

Anyway–about the movie.  

It is the story of Jamal–an orphan who grows up in the slums with his brother.  At the age of 18 he wins a spot on “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?”.   He is one question away from winning 200 million rupees and he is accused of cheating.  How can an uneducated man from the slums know so much?  The story goes question by question as he explains how he knows the answers.  Only Jamal did not go on the show to win money.  He went on it to find his long lost and one true love.  Let me tell ya–you need to bring tissues when you see this movie.  I seriously had to wait several minutes before we left the theater because the floodgates were open!  I haven’t cried like this since “Titanic”.  

So here is the trailer.  Seriously–you need to see this movie.  If not in the theater then add it to your Netflix queue.  Go do it.  Right now.  I’ll wait.  .  . okay so now that you’re back here is the trailer:

0 Responses to “Slumdog Millionaire: My Vote for Can’t Miss Movie of the Year!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

