When it rains . . .

it pours.  And last night it REALLY poured–literally and figuratively. 

We had a wicked wind storm and I remember thinking as I was lying down to go to sleep, “What if a tree falls on our house?”  About 2 years ago, a tree fell from our neighbor’s yard onto our fence and our shed with very little damage.  We had the insurance adjuster come out and look and he told me that we needed to have our other neighbor remove a dead tree from her yard because if it fell it would fall right in our yard and could damage the shed.

Well, we never talked to her about it but I know she had someone come and look at it and then she never got it cut down.  So this morning, we woke up to this:

swingset

swingset-2

I can praise God for several things though. 

  • It missed the house.  Madalyn sleeps in the room in the back of the house so this was right outside her window.
  • It missed the shed.
  • It happened at night while we were all asleep.  The kids had just been playing on the swingset yesterday afternoon.
  • It missed the Barbie jeep!  My dad just got that thing running again and the girls love it.  So yes, I’m praising God that is missed the Barbie jeep.

I am not so heartbroken about the swingset because we were not planning to move that to NC with us anyway.  I am upset that we now have to fix the fence though.  Ugh.  Just an inconvenience.

I read a post on my friend Heather’s blog yesterday that really meant a lot to me.  She posted an article by David Wilkerson.  The article talks about Satan tempting us, and “shaking and sifting” us and that we should rejoice when such things happen–we must have quite a reputation in hell if Satan is trying to get us.  Here is a quote from the article:

Why else would he (Satan) spend his efforts harassing and troubling you, scaring you and shaking all that you have? He is sifting you because you play an important part in God’s church in these last days.

So in the midst of the craziness–oh yeah, did I mention we have a house showing at 10:30?!–I am at peace.  Aaron and I are wondering if this person that is coming today is “the one” that will buy our house and this is Satan’s silly feeble attempt to dissuade them from buying our house.  I’m laughing at him right now.  Our God is mightier than he is and in the end His will is going to be done. 

Thank you Lord for keeping my family safe and for your neverending goodness.  Nothing that was precious to me was harmed and for that I am grateful to You.

2 Responses to “When it rains . . .”


  1. 1 Heather February 12, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Wow, I’m so glad that no one was hurt.

    I am going to read the DW article again, it is helping me to see beyond the physical right now…Bless you as you keep on keeping on. Praying for GOOD THINGS in 2009 for you and yours.


  1. 1 House Update #3 « Trackback on February 12, 2009 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

