Homeschool & Socialization: An oxymoron?

This is a hot topic apparently.  I have to admit that before I did any research on homeschooling I too thought that homeschool kids must be ‘weird’ because they obviously can’t be “socialized”.  Everyone I talk to wants to give me advice on how to “socialize’ my kids.  Here’s my thoughts.

If your child is in public school then they spend all day in a class with kids their own age.  Most of the time these kids are also the same race and on the same socioeconomic level–because school districts are based on where you live and let’s be honest parents will bus their kids to more desirable schools if need be.  How much “socialization” do they get?  They are surrounded by kids who are all just like them.  I don’t know about your job, but now that I am working in the real world not all of my co-workers are middle class 30 year olds.  They are of different ethnicities, different religions, different ages, different economic levels, etc.  So why would we think that putting a child in a classroom of peers that are just like them is going to teach them about the real world?

I’ve done a lot of reading on the socialization and the so-called weirdness of homeschooled kids.  One homeschool mom said that her kids are weird.  They are “weird” because they are not like their peers.  They have minds of their own.  They have a style of their own.  Their ideas and goals are not influenced by the popular vote of the their peers.   

My awesome friend Nikki sent me this article from the Fredricksburg paper of a father’s response to the whole ‘socialization’ question.  It is awesome and sums up my thoughts on the subject perfectly.  I’m not even a homeschooling mom yet and already I have gotten funny looks when I tell people that we are more than likely going to homeschool Annagrace next year.  This is GREAT–thanks Nikki for sending it my way.  

  “Home-schooled and Skipping the ‘Joys’ of Modern Education

 When my wife and I mention to our well-intentioned friends that we are strongly considering home-schooling our children, we are without fail asked, “But what about socialization?”
 Fortunately, we found a proven method by which our kids can receive the same socialization that public schools provide.
 On Mondays and Wednesdays, I will personally corner my son in the bathroom, give him a wedgie, and take his lunch money.
 On Tuesdays and Thursdays, my wife will make sure to tease our children for not being in the “in” crowd, taking special care to poke fun of any physical abnormalities.
 Fridays will be “Fad and Peer Pressure Day”, in which we will all compete to see who has the coolest toys, the most expensive clothes, and the loudest, fastest, and most dangerous car – all while dyeing our hair the same color and ripping our jeans.
 However, every day, my wife and I will adhere to a routine of cursing and swearing in the hallways and mentioning our weekend exploits with alcohol and immorality.
 If our kids attempt to use the bathroom without permission, we will punish them immediately; and we have asked them to hold us to a similar standard by reporting us to the authorities in the event we mention God or try to bring up morals and values.
 And just think – all these benefits without a dime of taxpayers’ money!
Alan Brymer
Stafford
 (from the Fredericksburg, VA, Free Lance Star)
2 Responses to “Homeschool & Socialization: An oxymoron?”


  1. 1 Alison February 10, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I love that article! So true!

  2. 2 shanwag February 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    great stuff, girl! and HELLO, your kids are in ministry (i know, aaron is ACTUALLY in ministry, but, c’mon we all know its a family affiar) Your kids will have plenty of opps for proper socialization. I say GO FOR IT and keep us all posted! With all our county budget cuts next year, we may not even have any teachers left so I may be forced to homeschool!


Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

