Meal Planning: Take the Poll!

Last week I decided that we were going to eat as much stuff out of the cabinets and freezer as we could.  First of all, we had stuff just flowing out of our cabinets.  (Aren’t we all blessed to have the problem of too much food?).  And secondly, I wanted to save some money at the grocery store last week.  Here is the week of meals that I came up with based on what we had. 

Thursday:  sandwiches, chips, applesauce
Friday:  steak, biscuits, peaches, green beans
Saturday:  baked chicken, salad, fresh pineapple, rice, orangeades (homemade–they were yummy!)
Sunday:  BBQ chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, crescent rolls, cookies
Monday:  hamburgers, pasta salad, baked beans, chips
Tuesday:  Pancakes, eggs, bacon, OJ
Wednesday:  steak, applesauce, and leftovers (pasta salad and beans)

Wednesday is my grocery shopping day so we will see what I come up with this week.  The cabinets still look pretty full so I know we can make several meals out of what we already have!  Aaron bought a big purchase of steak from one of those people that drives around in a meat truck (yeah, I know–can you say redneck?!) and it has lasted us a a long time so we are trying to eat it up!  I’m not complaining–steak twice a week?  Ya can’t beat that. 

One thing Annagrace noticed is how much healthier we eat when I actually plan out what we are having.  We have also been making an effort to sit down and eat all together this week and the girls seems to be enjoying it.  We have been so busy and honestly the house has been such a mess lately that we haven’t had the time or room to sit down and enjoy a meal together.  So it’s been nice to do that for a change.

So about meal planning–just wondering what you all do.  Do you plan your meals weeks in advance?  Do you decide when you get to the grocery store?  Do you go by what’s on sale or what you have on hand?

In fact, why don’t we do a little poll! 

7 Responses to “Meal Planning: Take the Poll!”


  1. 1 Mom January 12, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Hey! If you are wondering who has a personal chef in your poll – it’s me!! And he does a super, fantastic job.

  2. 2 Melissa January 12, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I was so planning to use the personal chef response! I do a mixture of two…I plan around what we already have in the cabinet and according to the sales at the store. And a lot of the time, I go off both and end up deciding something else altogether! But I try to stick with the plan!

  3. 3 Alison January 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I hate grocery shopping with 2 kids so I plan 2 weeks at a time worth of meals and do a big trip. Then I only go out for fruit, bread, etc during the 3nd week. We try to stick to it.

  4. 4 Alison January 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    (That was a typo. Only go out for little things during the 2nd week)

  5. 5 Cribb January 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    I’m like Melissa…just buy stuff on sale and figure out a yummy way to put it together!!

  6. 6 Myra January 13, 2009 at 8:37 am

    I’m a list maker/meal planner and I’m pretty good about sticking to just what’s on my list. I shop every other Monday (ALONE… occasionally Paul will come but really is better if I just go alone)… Sharp Shopper, Costco, Walmart. I usually only have to go back in between for more milk.
    This shopping excursion is tiring and can be long but I don’t usually mind… it’s fun for me to see how much I can get for the least amount of money!
    Daddy and Zachary carry all of the groceries in and the girls and I put it away :o)
    This is what works for me/us and if I miss a shopping Monday (very rare) then it’s not pretty!

  7. 7 Myra January 13, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Whoa! Did know I was making that face… hehe, that was supposed to be a smiley 🙂


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

