ORAM: December/January Master Bathroom

I know you’ve all been waiting with bated breath (what does that phrase mean anyway?  I think I need to look that up on wikipedia) to see photos of our new and definitely improved Master Bathroom.  I LOVE it.  I wish we had done this a few years ago so I would have at least had time to enjoy it some! 

We fell in love with this bathroom when we first looked at our home.  I loved the jacuzzi tub–who wouldn’t?  That thing is awesome!  The kids can swim in it for pete’s sake!  I also loved all the natural light.  For the life of me I can not find the file with the before photos.  If I come across them, I will add them.  Before the color was a bright yellow.  The shower curtain was a tropical print with cold reds, blues and yellows.  The trim including the doors and the built in shelves where natural wood.  The blind was a natural wood blind.   

 Here are the AFTER photos!  Here is looking into the room from the bedroom door:

master-bath-12

 I tried to tweak the colors to make them look true to life but still don’t have it quite right!  The paint color is sort of a yellowish tan.  It’s neutral.  Aaron hates it.  I love it.

Here are the built-ins over beside the shower and the jacuzzi tub:

master-bath-2

Here is the vanity/sink area:

master-bath-3

And here is a close up of the shower curtain fabric–found in the clearance bin at the local fabric store for less than $12.  I already had the curtain rings so all it took was “hemming” the edges with fabric glue and sewing the rings on.  I love it.  Aaron hates it.  The fabric was called “Charleston” something or another.  I realized after purchasing this that I am turning into my mother.  And I’m okay with that!

master-bath-curtain

So here is the weird thing about this room.  When you walk into the doorway–see up in that first photo?  If you turn to the left you are in an open carpeted area of the room.  Over behind where the vanity is there is a walk in closet.  But this big open area has always perplexed us.  What were we suppose to do with it?

I never knew why the previous ownwes laid it out like this.  They had a “built in” bookcase (we took it out and put it in the girls’ room) and they said that they had planned to make it into an office.  OK–who wants an office in the bathroom?  We did have my scrapbooking area in there at one time and while  I loved having the space it was odd sitting in the bathroom upstairs alone working on my scrapbooks!   So when we decided to sell the house this area became a topic of concern. 

I have decided to make it an exercise room.  Aaron thinks that is weird but it makes more sense to me than an office!  I like that I can come up here and close the door and exercise without interruption.   If I had that treadmill it would be perfect in here!  But I think my hopes of getting a treadmill have been taken over by my logical side which is telling me to wait on getting a treadmill until after we move.  I really don’t want to spend 3 hours putting it together only to have to take it back apart to move in (what we hope will be) a few months!  Here is that area of the room. 

   bathroom2
(I am standing in the corner by the built-ins looking towards the front of the house.  My walk in closet is behind my daughter, the doorway into the bathroom is to the left of the photo).

The tv was a temporary move from the bedroom while Aaron was painting but ya know–I might leave it in there so I can do my workout DVDs in there.  I also have a couple of other things–weights, that big ball that the kids love to play with, and a step that I can put in there.  I think it will give the room a ‘purpose’ and maybe potential buyers won’t think it is too weird.  I don’t know about everyone else, but I’d much rather have my exercise stuff here rather than in my bedroom! 

So there ya have it!  One more room DONE.  We spent less than $150 total on this room and most of that money ($65) was spent on the plantation blinds.  Not too shabby.  We have one more room to paint and that is the master bedroom.  I am not looking forward to that but Aaron has recruited some help for us so hopefully it will go a little bit quicker! 

What do you all think?  What do you think about the exercise area idea?  Any other suggestions for how you would use that weird space?

6 Responses to “ORAM: December/January Master Bathroom”


  1. 1 Alison January 9, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Looks good. Calm and soothing, just like on those design shows 🙂

  2. 2 Exie January 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I think the excersize room is a prefect idea for that spot. Leave the TV in there and for staging purposes roll out your mat put a pair of shoes against the wall and a hand towel. I can’t think of a better idea for that room. perfect!

  3. 3 Melissa January 9, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I really like it! Very nice. And I agree with the exercise room…I really can’t imagine what else you would use that space for. Your house is really looking awesome! Great job 🙂

  4. 4 Heather January 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I am LOL about the whole bookcases in the bathroom thing. When we were growing up, we’d joke about someone being “In the library” when they took an extended trip to the bathroom. Maybe that’s why they put them in there! Even sillier is the idea of you with all your grand scrap book supplies, doing layouts…in the bathroom. Girl, you GOTTA come scrap with me! I promise a potty free environment!

  5. 5 lsaufley January 9, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    The library. That’s what we should have called it! The only good thing was that I didn’t have to leave the room to go use the bathroom and the sink came in quite handy for rinsing out my stamps!

    I like it much better as an exercise room! Great idea Exie to set out my shoes and towel and a mat. Good thinking!

  6. 6 Mom January 10, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    The bathroom looks great!! What a good idea to use that space for an exercise area – I think it’ll work!!


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

