New Year’s Resolutions: Do I dare?!

What exactly is a resolution?  Wikipedia defines it as “a commitment to the reforming of a habit–often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantegeous”.  And most people don’t keep them.  In a recent study, only 12% of people actually kept their resolutions.  I usually don’t even make them.  But I decided that since this is a big year full of change for our family that I would make some resolutions.  The year 2009 will be the year that I:

1)  Life a healthier, greener life.   

 Last April I started running and started eating more healthfully and more organically.  I lost almost 20 pounds.  Then came vacation.  Then came really hot sticky weather.   Then came all my excuses for why I wasn’t keeping up with my new healthier habits. 

I loved running.  Absolutely loved it.  Getting out in the park with my mp3 player and just running felt great.  Granted I couldn’t run very fast, and my running was in short intervals, but still–it felt good to get out and move.

I want to run again.  I want to stay commited to my 5K training.  I want to be able to run a 5K–an entire 5K, running the entire time.  Aaron and I just briefly discussed buying a treadmill.  This topic has come up in our house oh about 50 times in the last 10 years.  Aaron always says that it’s a waste of money, we won’t use it, it will become a place to hang clothes (as was the case in his home growing up).  However I KNOW that it will be used.  No more excuses for why I can’t get out and run.  It’s too cold, it’s too hot–nope.  Can’t use those excuses anymore.  So I am on the lookout for a treadmill.  Anyone have recommendations for a good one?!

I also will get back to healthy eating–not only for me but for my family as well.  I want to buy more organic foods (and grow my own this summer).  I also want to use organic (and homemade) cleaning products as well as more organic personal care products.   

2)  Stop biting my nails FOR GOOD.  After biting, stopping, then biting again over and over–this will be the year that I stop for good. 

3)  Reduce my consumption.  Recycle more.  Reuse more.   

I will recycle everything that I possibly can.  I already recycle a lot of stuff and I want to continue that and also investigate ways to recycle even more!  Once we move I also want to start a compost bin.  I hate accumulating so much trash.   Aaron and I had already decided to reduce our trash for January and I hope to keep it up the entire year.

4)  Read through the New Testament and Psalms and Proverbs this year.  My friend Jason is the pastor at Forefront Church and he has developed a plan for accomplishing this.  I’ve decided to do this as well.  If you are interested in downloading the pdf file of the plan you can find it here. 

5)  Focus on my word for the year–Simplify–and will be content with what I have.  I want a simple life.  Really, I do.  I don’t want or need a big fancy house.  I don’t want or need an expensive car.  I don’t need a lot of stuff to make me happy.  I want to be content with what I have.  I don’t want to spend money on unneccessary things. 

6)  Take a photo or document something in our lives everyday.  I got confirmation that my Project 365 kit is on the way so I am super excited about getting to it!  I have been taking a photo everyday and have been documenting something each day as well.  Can’t wait for the kit to get here!

7)  Participate in the Weekly Photography Challenge.  See the tab above?  I am going to do the weekly photography challenge.  I already have my photo in mind for this week and plan to take it tomorrow for the first theme of the year. 

8)  Read one book each month.   I want to read the rest of Jodi Picoult’s books.  I have 7 more to go (including the new one coming out in March).  Plus a few more here and there that I want to read this year.

And I think that is enough.  In addition to keeping all my resolutions I will be finding a new job, deciding about homeschooling Annagrace, maybe looking for childcare and/or a preschool for Madalyn, oh and MOVING this year too!  Others may be stressed if in my shoes but I am thriving on it.  I love change.  I love depending on God and walking by faith.  I love letting it all be in His hands.  It is very refreshing! 

How about you?  Did you make any resolutions this year?

3 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions: Do I dare?!”


  1. 1 Melissa January 7, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Let’s see…for me, I want to grow closer to God, do my half-marathon in April, lose more weight, gain more muscle, be healthier & fit, & get pregnant. Plus I have about 19 fitness goals that I had to come up with when Tye and I started training last month and I would love to accomplish them all next year 🙂

    Your resolutions sound reasonable, so I think they are all things you can accomplish 🙂

  2. 2 Alison January 7, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Good resolutions. We had a treadmill once. It never got used…I enjoyed running outdoors WAY better. Felt different. That said, we also had an elliptical once (sold it to make room for Ivy). That was a great machine. Loved it. (We’ve also had other fitness machines…I’m a closet exercise-routine-starter-but-not-finisher..there, I said it).

    My resolutions: be healthier (eat better, feed my kids better, be more fit); to be more efficient at housecleaning; to get rid of the things we don’t use (I like the “simplify” idea); to consciously work on my marriage (not that anything is wrong with it…it just kinda gets the back-burner sometimes, ya know?)

    I’m sure it’s all do-able. We do, after all, have a whole year! 🙂

  3. 3 lsaufley January 7, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    I thought about an elliptical–still leaning towards the treadmill though because I can train for my 5k on it even when the weather is bad (we get a lot of ice and snow and just general blah weather up here during the winter). We’ll see!

    I also should have added consciously work on my marriage. Aaron and I definitely need more time to ourselves without the kiddos!


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

