Let’s Read a Book

I was joking Aaron the other day about his book post on his blog.  He loves to read.  It is not unusual at all to see him sitting with book and red pen in hand.  He does not read fiction though.  Most all of his books are about church, Jesus, faith, you get the idea.  I told him that people were going to think that all he ever does is read!  He read THIRTY THREE books last year!  Yes you read that correctly.  Thirty three books!  That is insane!   

As for me, well I’m all about some fiction books.  I started reading a few non-fiction books last year but never finished them.  The only ones that I made it through were “The Complete Women’s Guide to Running” and a book about green living!  I did however read more books in the last year than I have read in the previous five years combined!  I was always a reader from the time I was young.  Mom bought me lots of books and I would read for hours on end.  Annagrace is the same way now!  She gets sucked into a book and will sit and read for hours at a time!  I love it!

After I had kids the reading was put on the back burner.  I still collected books.  I just never got around to reading them.  Then last year I picked up a book called My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. 

I had heard that a movie was being made about it and wanted to read the book first.  I am anxiously awaiting the movie release in June!!!  It was suppose to star Dakota and Elle Fanning but the sisters refused to shave their heads for the part.  But I think it will be even better with Abigail Breslin and Sofia Vassilieva (she is the oldest daughter on the show Medium).  It also stars Cameron Diaz and Alec Baldwin.  I have heard on Jodi’s site that they are changing the ending.  If you read the book you know that the ending totally makes the whole movie.  Please producers–DON’T change the ending!!!!

So after reading that first Jodi book I then went on to read 9 more books by Jodi last year!  I LOVE her books.  I want to read all 15 of them!  

In 2008 I read:

  • My Sister’s Keeper
  • Harvesting the Heart
  • The Pact
  • Nineteen Minutes
  • Keeping Faith
  • The Tenth Circle
  • Salem Falls
  • Plain Truth
  • Perfect Match
  • Change of Heart

In fact, I got Change of Heart for a Christmas gift and read it in less than a week.  My favorite of hers is Salem Falls.  It had me literally holding my breath waiting for what was going to happen! 

This year I want to finish reading all of her books.  Her new one comes out in March and I am super excited about it!  I read an excerpt from it on her website and I promise you–if you read it you will get sucked in and will want to read this book!  It’s called Handle With Care and is about a little girl with severe osteogenesis imperfecta.

Other books that I read in 2008 include “Nights in Rodanthe”, “In Her Shoes” and “The Next Big Thing”.   

I also read a book over Christmas that I really loved and I want to read more from this author too.  I didn’t realize it when I picked it up but a reviewer called Diane Chamberlain the “Southern Jodi Picoult”.  Diane lives in North Carolina.  Her book “The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes” was chosen as a Target book club book. 

I just happened to pick it up because the cover looked interesting.  I read the first page and was sold.  It is a great story.  It was very hard to put it down.  I loved that it is set in NC–Raleigh, New Bern and Chapel Hill and later in the book Charlottesville and UVA are big parts.  There are some neat little twists and turns in the book.  My mom read it too and while we both agreed that the first chapter takes some of the suspense out of the ending it was still worth it. 

Last night I was in Walmart and needed a new book to read.  I wanted something to read this weekend and in the car on the ride back to VA on Tuesday.  There were none of Diane’s or Jodi’s books to be had so I looked and looked and looked for something else that was ‘my kind of thing’.  I don’t like romance (unless it’s Nicholas Sparks).  I don’t like historical stuff.  So what did I decide on?  Well, I gave in to the hype and bought this:


I was determined not to read the Twilight series.  But after one of my patient’s just raved about it I decided to give it a go.  I like Anne Rice’s vampire books so we’ll see.  I like that this one is an easy read and I will likely finish it pretty quickly!

Have you read any good books lately?  (I know Melissa has!!!)

3 Responses to “Let’s Read a Book”


  1. 1 Melissa January 4, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    LOL! I have slowed down quite a bit on my reading since August. It’s hard to believe but I spend more time exercising than reading any more! But I am reading a couple of good books (or trying to make time to read them) At Graves End by Jeaniene Frost (part of the Night Huntress series! I love it!) and Veil of Midnight (the Midnight Breed series! I also love!). Other than that, I haven’t read much. I am looking forward to a few new books I ordered by Arron Chambers (Running on Empty: Life Lessons to Refuel Your Faith and Remember Who You Are: Unleashing the Power of an Identity-Driven Life) and Go Be Jesus: Making Your Mark Through Serving Others by Tony Wolf. And on March 31 I should be getting a new Harlan Coben book, Long Lost. So, I definitely have plans to read more than I have in the past several months (especially since my to be read pile is still huge!)

  2. 2 Alison January 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    You and Aaron sound like me and Dean. Dean’s always reading a new “spiritual” book…I like to read for mindless fun 🙂 However, I don’t read like I used to. I’m impressed by y our book list. I, too, used to read for hours on end…the last book I read was “Setting Boundaries and Limits for your Stong-Willed Child” haha. I also read a potty training book :). The last fiction I read was probably when the last Harry Potter came out. Let me know how Twilight was…I was tempted, but didn’t wanna give into the pre-teen madness! Plus I heard the sequals sucked, and I’d hate to get sucked in only to have to read bad sequals. Because I would HAVE to read them.

  3. 3 Cribb January 5, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Wow Melissa you are a big reader! Aaron’s blog inspired me and and I read a whole book last Saturday…It’s called Nickel and Dimed. A lady with a PhD goes “undercover” and tries to find a job without her credentials and see if she can still eat and pay the rent. Very interesting. I was supposed to read it in Social Work class for college but realized I never finished it. I am notorious for not finishing books.


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

