One Little Word

Seems like I have come across a lot of bloggers lately who chose a “Word of the Year” for their lives.  A word to focus on throughout the year. 

I love the idea.  After thinking on it, I have determined my word for the year.  It was very easy for me to chose this.  It instantly popped into my head and I knew it was the word for me!  For anyone that knows me this will come as no surprise to you.  In fact, although I hadn’t designated it as my ‘official’ word of the year for 2008 it was an underlying theme for me throughout the year.  Any guesses?  I’ll bet my mom guessed it right away!  My word for 2009 is:

 

 Simplify Pictures, Images and Photos

 sim·pli·fy 
: to make simple or simpler: as a: to reduce to basic essentials b: to diminish in scope or complexity : streamline <was urged to simplify management procedures> c: to make more intelligible : clarify

I love that definition.  “To reduce to basic essentials” and “to make more intelligible”.  That is exactly what I want for my life in 2009.  To consume less.  To focus more on what is important.  To make my life easier.  Simpler.  

My friend Heather has chosen “Abide” as her word for 2009. 

My favorite scrapbooker, Ali Edwards, is all about the one little word concept.  She has chosen “Nurture” for her word.  The following is from her website: 

Can you identify a single word that sums up what you want for yourself in 2009?

It can be something tangible or intangible. It could be a thought or a feeling or an emotion. It can be singular or plural. The key is to find something that has personal meaning for you. This is not your mother’s word or your spouse’s word or your child’s word – this is YOUR word.

One little word can have big meaning in your life if you allow yourself to be open to the possibilities. And here’s one thing that is totally interesting: sometimes a word will pop into your brain and it will not make any sense to you right now. Give it some time. Let it percolate a bit. I have often found that our hearts speak to us in very unique ways. Maybe this is a word you need to hear but just aren’t ready for it yet. Again, be open to the possibilities.

 What is your Word for 2009?

   

4 Responses to “One Little Word”


  1. 1 Cribb January 3, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Mine would have to be the same as 2008 too…and that word is balance.

  2. 2 Melissa January 3, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Okay, my word for 2009 is content. I blogged about it. Great idea 🙂 I love it!

  3. 3 lsaufley January 4, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Heather that should definitely be your word. Ms. I-broke-my-foot-walking-up-the-stairs. Hee hee. JK. I totally know what you mean by “balance.” 🙂

    Melissa–that is a great word. Going to read your blog right now.

  4. 4 Cribb January 4, 2009 at 8:58 am

    HAHA I didn’t even think about it that way!!! Now the word REALLY fits! And I need balance with a knife too so I don’t stab myself in the hand. Reber watches me now and tells me to be careful when I am chopping stuff like you would do to a 7-year-old : )


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

