Happy New Year!

Hey y’all!  So today I am suppose to be working but there was no work for me.  Yeah, I’m crying a river about that!  We headed to town and picked up our new dryer and then stopped at Applebee’s to eat.  Our waiter was super nice and I left him and almost 50% tip–he was very appreciative of that.   Then off to Game Stop so Annagrace could get a new DS game for the ride to Grammy and Papa’s.  She had $15 that was burning a hole right through her pocket and I was happy she found one she wanted!

I have lots of thoughts about blog posts.  My resolutions/goals for this year.  My Bible reading plan for this year.  My word of focus for this year.  Photos of my (almost) finished remodel of the upstairs bathroom.  But today, since I have SO MUCH to do around the house I’m just gonna post a few things quickly and maybe tonight will get back on here and post a little more. 

CK Scrapbooking Kit of the Month

I was really excited this morning because the new Creating Keepsakes Scrapbooking Kit of the Month was up for sale at 11am.  I waited all morning to log in and order it.  They tend to sell out quickly so I knew I had to get right on it.  Well after an HOUR AND A HALF on the site my order finally went through.  They got bombarded with orders and their server couldn’t handle it.  But it’s all good because I got one!  Yippee!  I am really excited about this. 

The kit is called 365 Days.  It encourages scrapbookers to scrap a little something every single day.  It doesn’t have to be a photo every day–it can be a ticket stub, a price tag, a small note from your child, a peice of mail.  The idea is that you document something every day.  I am already thinking of weekly themes for mine such as what things cost, a week in Madalyn’s life, a week in Annagrace’s life, etc.  With all the craziness that the new year is bringing to our family I figured this would be an awesome way to document it and would be so much easier on me.  It requires no additional scrapbooking supplies and you don’t even use adhesive!  All you need is the kit and a pen.  Anyway–Becky Higgins has some awesome videos about it on her blog.  It is totally worth the time and money to get this kit.  Even if you have never scrapped before I think you will enjoy it!  Here is a sample from Becky’s site of a completed week:

 
There are spaces for a photo of other item each day and then a corresponding journaling block down at the bottom.  I plan to put the whole kit together when I receive it and then all I have to do is add the daily journaling and a photo.  Easy peasy!  If you are interested in this kit ya better go order it right now because they are going fast!

Photography Challenge 2009 

And as if I didn’t have enough to accomplish in 2009, I thought I’d also give this a try.  The concept is to take a photo every day and to stay on ‘theme’ for the week.  My goal is to take at least one photo a week that will fit into that theme.  I just don’t have the time to take one every single day!  The list is compiled every year by the girls over on Two Peas in a Bucket.  I wanted to do it last year but just never got the motivation.  This year, I am motivated.  I am adding a little tab up top that lists all the themes and I will add a photo for each theme under it as well as posting it on my main blog page.  My goal is to post a photo each weekend that fits the theme for the previous week.  My first week is going to start this coming up Sunday.  The first theme is “Ready . . . Set . . . Go!”.  I am super excited about this too because it gives me a chance to practice with my camera and I love the challenge of being creative! 

Well, I am off to clean the house and declutter the office and girls’ room! 

 

 

 
3 Responses to “Happy New Year!”


  1. 1 Laura January 2, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Oh my goodness! I want… no, wait, I NEED one of those scrapbooking kits. I am sure they are sold out, but I am going to check anyways!

  2. 2 Laura January 2, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Yep, just checked, and it’s out of stock! Ugh! I am quite jealous of you at the moment. (:


  1. 1 New Year’s Resolutions: Do I dare?! « Counting My Pennies Trackback on January 6, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

