Goodbye 2008 . . . Hello 2009!

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to welcome 2009.  2008 has been rough.  Too much sadness in my life and those surrounding me.  In the midst of the sadness there were good moments.  Here are some highlights of 2008 (in no particular order!):

1)  Babies, babies, babies
     In 2008 we welcomed five, yes FIVE new babies to our small church family.  Parker, Brennyn, Ava, Bobby and Ethan are so blessed to have such wonderful parents.  I can’t wait to see these little ones grow up!  We also welcomed a new baby into my family–my nephew Zachary!  And my best friend from high school welcomed little Lilley! 

2)  New Kids concert
     Laugh if you must but this was seriously a HUGE highlight of my year.  It came at just the time that I needed it.  I had an amazing time with my friend Steph and I am secretly–okay, not it’s not really a secret!–hoping they will tour again in this area next summer because I am SO there!

3)  Family Trip To DC
     We took an overnight trip to DC in September.  It was so much fun and I’m hoping we can go back before we move and take the girls to the American History Museum (it was under construction when we visited in September).

4)  Learning all About CVSing
     Again, you can laugh.  Go ahead.  But I learned a lot about CVS and Extra Care Bucks and I am thankful to God for that.  I have saved a huge amount of money this year because of CVS!

5)  Summer Vacation in the Outer Banks
     Always a highlight of the year.  We had such a great time this year!  One of the best that I can remember!

6)  Weekend Getaway with my friend Jenny
     Jenny and I reconnected on myspace a few years ago and I fee like that was a God thing.  I know He put us back in each other’s lives for a reason.  Jenny is the one friend that I can tell anything to.  In August we took a girl’s road trip to NC so that her girls could see where she grew up at and so we could just spend time together.  We took a day trip to the Outer Banks that weekend and it was awesome!  All four of the girls had so much fun!

7)  Deciding to Move
     This was a big part of 2008.  In June/early July we made the decision to move back to NC and our lives have been a roller coaster ever since.  But it’s been a good ride so far.  Today we ordered the new carpet for the house and have plans to get our home on the market by the first part of February.  It’s all becoming very real to me now.  I have good days where I am ready to go anytime.  And I have other days when I think how much easier it would be to just stay put.  But I know that God is leading us to do this and that gives me peace.  He wouldn’t want us to do it if He didn’t plan to carry us through it.  I depend on Him fully.  He’s never let me down before!

8)  Thanksgiving Road Trip to Kentucky
     I love to travel so it’s no surprise that I have all of our big trips listed as highlights!  We had a lot of fun with Aaron’s sister in Louisville.  Once we move it will be a really long trip to see her so I was glad we were able to go this year.  I only wish I could have spent a week there–so much cool stuff to see in Louisville and we just didn’t have time for it all.  

9)  My decision to live a Greener life
     I became very interested in green living this year and I plan to do even more next year to decrease my burden on our planet.  I love buying organic products and I actually enjoy going to the recycling center.  Hopefully in the new year I will introduce gardening and composting to our lives.  (I can hear Aaron’s moans right now!).  Aaron and I have decided to really try to reduce our trash output in January.  (I am already thinking of ways that we can do that and I am hoping that we can put out no more than one trash bag full of trash each week.  That’s pretty drastic for us as we usually have 4-5 bags full a week!  More on that later–I am planning a post about that and what steps we will take to accomplish that!)

10)  Annagrace Moves to 2nd Grade
     The current talk in our house is about our oldest daughter being moved up a grade level to 2nd grade!  We are all super excited about this!  She is quite an interesting child.  She prefers reading to riding a bike.  She would rather sit on the computer and play strategy games than color.  She loves watching “Dr. G: Medical Examiner” and “Mystery Diagnosis”.  She loves to learn and thinks that filling in a multiplication table or practicing writing in cursive is a fun way to waste time.  She has an unbelievable memory and can recall things that amazes me (the other night during scrabble she helped one of the adults spell a word and then told us that it was an Asian plant–I wikipedied it on my cell phone and sure enough, she was right!).  So anyway,  needless to say we are PROUD of this little girl!

11)  Madalyn starts Preschool
     This was kind of a big deal since she is the BABY of the family!  She loves preschool!  She loves her teachers and her friends.  Her teacher sent home a paper that said she was thankful for Madalyn because she “loves to laugh and is a good friend”.  She is such a joy.  Even when she says her new favorite word (“poopy”) over and over and over.  Even when she flushes toy roosters down the toilet (that cost us almost $200 to get fished out by the plumber).  When she curls up next to me and says, “I LOVE you mommy” she melts my heart every time!

Happy New Year Y’all!  Here’s to a happy, properous, JOYFUL 2009!

2 Responses to “Goodbye 2008 . . . Hello 2009!”


  1. 1 Cribb January 2, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    LOVE Gardening and composting I am so jealous!! I know there are composting options when you don’t have a yard but they just seem like a pain in the butt and I haven’t set one up yet. One day I will have a yard and I don’t care if I have to put it in the front yard but mark my words I WILL have a garden and compost!!

    Gardening is the best and it is pretty much free food. I am lucky to get cheap produce at the Russian store but nearly free is better. Ooo and you can grow blueberries in NC. Oh, the possibilities!!

  2. 2 lsaufley January 3, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I wish you would be there to help me out! My mom always had a huge garden when I was younger. I can remember her having lettuce, cabbage, tomatoes, they even had a couple of fruit trees and yes, blueberries!

    I’m excited about it. I think it will be a good learning experience for the girls too!


Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

