Happy Christmas Eve!

My Christmas spirit is slowly starting to kick in.  I’ve been depressed for some reason this year.  Not sure what that’s all about but I just haven’t had any Christmas spirit at all.  Maybe it’s the economy.  Maybe it’s all the deaths this year (I have had three patients pass away in the last month, plus I lost a co-worker in February, then several of my co-workers lost close family members–including a child).  Then there was the election that just seemed to drag on and on.   It just hasn’t been a very happy year.  Then add in the fact that I am not HOME for Christmas.  That always depresses me. 

But anyway, enough feeling sorry for myself.  We have food.  We have clothes.  The kids have gifts.  And we have been blessed with GOOD HEALTH for all our family members this year.  So that is something to be very grateful for!

Today we went and saw “The Tale of Despereaux”.  It was really cute.  I liked it and Aaron even liked it so that is saying something there!  We had a great time!  Then it was to Food Lion for some last minute groceries and then home where we have been cooking and baking all afternoon!  

Here is what is on the list for tonight:

  • 2 batches of monkey bread (DONE!  And it’s delicious!  Will be good for breakfast in the morning!)
  • oreo truffles (in the fridge)
  • bacon swiss cheese dip (all mixed and ready to bake in the morning)
  • cookies for Santa (need to get on that)
  • homemade mashed potatoes (DONE!  Yummy!  My first ever homemade taters!)
  • green beans (cooking now)
  • turkey (in the oven)
  • stuffing (to be cooked)
  • gravy (will make once the turkey is done)
  • rolls (will put in while the turkey is cooling)

So that’s it!  All this for our little family of four!  We are having Aaron’s family over tomorrow morning for a bit and then Friday my parents come into town!

I’m outta here.  I still have presents to wrap!

1 Response to “Happy Christmas Eve!”


  1. 1 Melissa December 24, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Wow…your baking list made me hungry!! Sounds like you will have lots of yummy treats to eat!! Hope you guys have an awesome Christmas 🙂


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

