Christmas Portraits 2008

Back in 2005 right after Madalyn was born I took the girls for a Christmas portrait and had a horrible experience with a local photography studio.  Long story short, I decided after that awful day to learn how to use my camera so that I could take my own photos of my kids.  I practiced and practiced with my old film Rebel and learn some of the basics.  Then in 2007 I invested in a digital camera and have continued to learn so much ever since then.  I try each year to have a couple sessions with them.  Of course I take a lot of photos of them, but a few times a year we get them dressed up specifically with a photo shoot in mind.  Sometimes it works–other times it doesn’t.  Today was half and half! 

I got the girls all dressed up for a Christmas portrait.  Last year I did a few casual ones of them in front of the tree.  This year I wanted some of them in their new Christmas dresses.  I also really wanted a nice head shot of each of them and one nice one together. 

They did great individually.  But put them within 2 feet of each other and all you-know-what breaks loose.  I was ecstatic with the head shots!  Here is Annagrace:

ag-christmas-portrait-web

And Madalyn (who is notoriously hard to get a good photo of!):

madalyn-christmas-portrait

But as for the ones together, well–it started like this and went downhill from there.  Maybe I’ll try again later this week!

madalyn-naughty-list-web 

See Alison?  Your kids aren’t the only ones!!!

2 Responses to “Christmas Portraits 2008”


  1. 1 Melissa December 22, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I think these pics are great!! They look awesome 🙂 Your girls are precious!!

  2. 2 Alison December 27, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    That’s still a great picture! Your tree is beautiful!


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

