I Love Productive Days and Oreo Truffles

I have been stuck in a rut for awhile.  No Christmas spirit, depressed, tired, lazy.  Today was a good day though.  I have my Wednesdays off again and it has really lifted my mood.  Here’s what I did today:

  • packed a couple boxes of stuff
  • rearranged the bedroom furniture
  • returned books to the library (on time too!)
  • got a birthday present for a friend’s son whose party is at Pump It Up tomorrow night
  • gave Madalyn a bath and even dried her hair!
  • cleaned tub and sink and bathroom fan–it was gross!–while Madalyn took her bath
  • made Oreo Truffles and Puppy Chow for Annagrace’s teachers
  • had a nice visit from a county sherriff re: our stupid neighbors and their stupid dog (long story!)

Still on the list for the rest of tonight: 

  • wrap some presents for a family that I am playing “Secret Santa” for
  • clean off my craft hutch/desk upstairs
  • upload photo orders–last order for 2008!
  • wash a couple more loads of clothes

It feels so good to get so much done.  And I didn’t even mention–Aaron is finishing up painting the master bath and I found two el cheapo curtains at Family Dollar today to hang up!  Can’t wait to get it done and get the photos uploaded.  It looks so much better!!!  I made a shower curtain from a beautiful piece of fabric I found in the clearance rack at the fabric shop.  I’ll hopefully have those photos to post by this weekend!

So back to those Oreo Truffles.  If you know me, you know I don’t like to cook.  I often tell people that I won’t use a recipe if it calls for more than 5 ingredients.  They usually laugh but I’m being serious!  These truffles are the easiest dessert ever and are pretty impressive!  Here is the recipe:

Oreo Truffles
–one pack of Oreos, finely crushed
–one pack of cream cheese
–one small bag of milk chocolate chips
–one small bag of white chocolate chips

1)  Mix the Oreos and the cream cheese.  (It’s a lot easier and lot more fun to do this with your hands!  Please wash them first!)  I made Annagrace do the dirty work.

oreo-mix
2)  Roll into small balls.
3)  Place in fridge for approx 20 minutes. 
4)  Melt either milk chocolate or white chocolate over low heat and dip truffles in to coat.  Place on wax paper and place back in fridge (or freezer) until chocolate is set.
5)  Drizzle whichever chocolate you didn’t use above over truffles.  I did both tonight.  I like how the white ones look!  (You can use a fork or you can place the chocolate in a ziploc bag and clip the tip then use it as a makeshift cake decorating bag!)

And there ya have it!  Easy as peasy and amazingly delicious! 


(Not my photo but of course mine are just as beautiful as these!)

One more thing to mention–my baby girl is almost 100% potty trained!  We ran out of diapers on Monday and rather than running right out and buying some I told her she’d have to wear her big girl panties.  She did really well!  Aaron has been taking her every hour or two and after 2 days she is almost completely out of her pull ups–even at nighttime!  What an awesome Christmas gift for me and Aaron!  We told her Santa is going to be so proud of her!

1 Response to “I Love Productive Days and Oreo Truffles”


  1. 1 Jessica December 18, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    These truffles look easy and yummy. Can’t wait to try them.

    Jessica


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

