Homeschooling Part 2: The Pros

I found some info on homeschooling at the Family Education website.  Here is a list of “pros” of homeschooling and my thoughts on that following each one.  (And let me clarify–these are not a list of pros that I came up with.  They are from that website and I copied them here.  The comments after are my thoughts on each).   

1)  Educational Freedom.   This is one of my primary reasons for wanting to homeschool.  Annagrace can learn at her own pace.  She can study what she is interested in, when she is interested in it.  Like I mentioned yesterday, if she wants to learn multiplication and cursive in first grade, then so we can do that. 

2)  Physical Freedom.  This is something I touched on yesterday too.  Some mornings are total chaos here.  Sometimes we have to drag Annagrace out of bed.  She hates mornings–she gets that honest!  I also like the thought that during the ‘school day’ when she is getting tired and needs a break, she can take one.  When she’s tired of being cooped up inside, she can go out a play for a bit.  When she’s puking (like today!) she can veg out on the couch instead of hanging out in the school clinic waiting for her dad to pick her up!   

3)  Emotional Freedom.  This is another biggie for us this year.  I’ve blogged before about all the mess Annagrace has had to deal with this year.  Mainly a particular child in her class that keeps saying inappropriate things to her.  I’d love to keep her from having to deal with the bullying and all the stupid stuff that goes with being a girl! Just yesterday I was talking with a co-worker who said she refused to let her daughter–who is now in college–be in the ‘challenge’ program (like the one that AG is in) because “those kids” sometimes got picked on.  I don’t want our daughter to ever be ashamed of her intelligence!    

4)  Religious Freedom.  This actually is not as big of a deal to me.  Annagrace gets a lot of Christian instruction from Aaron and I and this would happen regardless of what type of school situation she is in.  Of course I do like the idea that we could teach Creationism and church history and could incorporate Bible reading in our English and Language classes.

5)  Closer Family Relationships.   I can imagine that this would be very crucial during the teenage years.  I wonder if homeschooling parents have to deal with teenage angst, rebellion, etc. as much as public schooled families.  My guess is no.

6)  Stability During Difficult Times.  I like the idea that if there is a family crisis, we don’t have to send a note to school and justify why my child needs to be out for a few days.  If my mom is sick or not feeling well and I need to be there for her, or take her to the doctor then I can be there without having to worry about who is taking AG to school, who is picking her up, etc.  And the fact that if there is a death or other crisis in either family we can pick up and go without worrying about AG missing school or getting behind in her homework.   

  
7)  Well-Rested Kids.  Wow.  What a GREAT pro that this would be!  As I mentioned before, AG is NOT a morning person.  She tends to stay up later than she should (yes, our fault.  But we are both night owls so she really does get it from us!) and she hates getting up in the morning.  I know as soon as she opens her eyes in the morning what kind of day she is going to have.  I don’t want to homeschool just so my child can sleep in, but I do like the idea that we can work on her schedule.  When she is awake and alert–then we do her most challenging studies.  When she is tired, we take a break and re-energize and then move on.   

8) No Busywork.   Hallelujah!  When you figure in how much time is spent in school lining kids up, telling them to be quiet, taking bathroom breaks with the whole class, putting on coats to go outside, walking to lunch, then to the library, then outside for recess-that adds up to a lot of time.  Then factor in kids doing “busy” work–which Annagrace gets her fair share of–and how many hours of instruction do our kids really get a day?  Maybe 2 or 3 at the most.   Because Annagrace is advanced and bored in class, her teachers (including her challenge teacher) have been giving her games to play.  I love her teachers and really appreciate all they are doing for her.  But honestly, she could play games here at home.  (I think her teacher feels that way too which is why she encouraged us to have her moved to second grade.)  That’s not counting in the times they send her to the library to read by herself because the class is too loud for her or because she has already finished putting her list of 20 words in alphabetical order while the rest of the class is trying to comprehend putting 3 words in order.  I’m telling ya–we’ve got a smart little chick! 

So those are my thoughts on the pros.  Next post will be my thoughts on the cons.   Anyone have any thoughts on this?  Any other pros that should be added to the list?

6 Responses to “Homeschooling Part 2: The Pros”


  1. 1 Alison December 4, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Take it from me, your reason #8 is a VERY accurate and good point. Intelligent children get TONS of busy work. I’m guilty of giving it…it’s what you tend to fall back on when you’ve got 20-something kids to teach.
    Another pro: teaching & learning for real-life situations. If you’re learning $$ for math, go to the grocery store and do some figuring. Plant a garden and grow some veggies for science. Lots of open-ended ideas! NO WORKSHEETS–yay! (less paper to be throwing away all the time!)

  2. 2 Exie December 5, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Field trips………want to learn about Washington DC…. go visit. Want to learn about shells being formed go to the beach!

  3. 3 Amber December 5, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Hey! As a “public school” product, teacher of public school and also a “home school” teacher..I thought I would comment. =) I think it depends on the kid…I did fine in public school….but that was also a “few” years ago. I have taught public school 6 years grades 4-7 and last year I taught at a school that was for home schoolers (meaning…they came to school two days a week for teacher/group instruction and got assignments for the other days of the week). It really depends on the school as well. When I taught public school in 3 different schools…each one was very different!
    Anyway….all this to say: Go with what you feel is best- what God lays on your heart!
    I don’t know what I am going to do with my girls and if I am going back to teaching when they get old enough to go school. It will depend on where we live, what the schools are like, and how I think my girls can handle it.
    I agree with all your “pros” except # 5…I know plenty of “homeschool” kids who rebel because they think their parents are not in the “real world” and go crazy when they get freedom because they have not been taught how to handle peer pressure and just basic friend “problems”. I am not saying that you will be that way…just giving you another perspective.
    Sorry for the novel…just thought I would “comment”…hehe.

  4. 4 Heather December 5, 2008 at 11:45 am

    Good post…You are getting it. The whole 2-3 hours of instruction is right on. And our poor kids are away from us for almost 8 hours by the time you figure in transport. That’s a waste of 5 hours a day, 4 days a week. 20 hours each week that our kids can be with us, play, rest and just BE. Glory, it is good. It’s not even noon and my guys are almost finished. We do start at 8 or 8:15, but they would be up and at it anyway, so we want to put the school work behind us!

    Do the DVD home school options interest you? There are pros and cons to those as well….

    You have some good insights, I wait to see your cons list. My guess is it will be much shorter.

  5. 5 Cribb December 5, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Hmmm…interesting conversation. I was one of those kids who could read Ramona books in kindergarten and rolled my eyes when we got to double negatives because my mom always spoke to us correctly so it was easy. Actually, all of school was easy for me. But you know what, I feel like I had some real benefits from public education (yes, in page county which shows that you can be successful anywhere). I had opportunities to go on lots of field trips, including a band trip to Boston. My teachers were generally awesome and helpful. I had everything I needed to be successful in college and still graduated summa cum laude. Yeah, kids made fun of me because I was smart, but that’s what happens when you’re a kid. Being exposed to different situations has helped me to deal with life and work as an adult. Like I’ve said before, Reber (in the beginning) messed me up way more than public school ever did. My dad was very careful and we were probably some of the most naive kids that ever went to public school. I don’t know, I won’t write forever but I do have a lot of thoughts on this subject. If I had to choose, I would definitely look for a combination of home/public schooling. Well, those are my thoughts for what they’re worth…

  6. 6 lsaufley December 6, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Thanks for your thoughts everybody!

    Heather C–one thing you mentioned was field trips. The county we are moving to in NC JUST passed a policy that every class is allowed to go on ONE field trip a year. ONE!

    I too attended public school–for high school. I was in private school for elementary and junior high. I decided on my own to go to public school. I am glad I did because I made friends that otherwise I would not have known. I too got to go on many trips–St. Louis, Snowshoe WV among other places. Homeschooling groups go on trips too–you just go with other homeschoolers.

    Did I like public school? Uhh . .. not so much. Loved my friends, but really didn’t enjoy school. There were too many mean kids, too many cliques, too much peer pressure. I hated high school and would never go back in a million years. Maybe I’m coming from a different view point than you are because public school kids did ‘mess me up’ to some extent–even though it was short lived.


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

