The Homeschooling Dilemma: Part 1

Never in a million years would I have thought that I would ever give serious thought to homeschooling my children.  I never thought it was “for me”.  I also always assumed that I’d be working full time as a nurse and the thought of trying to work full time and also homeschool is overwhelming. 

Enter in our present situation.  We are preparing to move, find new jobs, and find a new house in another state.  If things go well, then I will likely be able to work only part time hours once we move.  I will hopefully go from working a 36-40 hour week to only working 16-24 hours per week.  Essentially, I’d be working 2-3 eight hour shifts, or two 12 hour shifts a week.  (I am seriously considering looking for a weekend only job which frees me up the entire week to be home with the kids.)

So once we move, homeschooling may become an option for our family.  Part of my reason for considering it is selfish–I want that time with my children (after all, kids are only kids for such a short season in life).  But my main reason is because Annagrace is a very bright child with a lot of potential and I fear that she will slip between the cracks in public school.  If homeschooled, she could be reading on the 4th-5th grade level that she is on and it would be okay!  I remember her being told last year (while in Kindergarten) that she couldn’t check out Junie B. Jones books from the school library because they were for the “big kids” and she was devastated!  (Eventually the librarian came around and realized that she could read them on her own and allowed her to check them out!)  This sudden interest she has in multiplication and fractions and writing in cursive could be encouraged instead of telling her, “Well-you’ll learn that in a couple of year just concentrate on this other stuff for now.”  (I recently told her to practice her cursive at home but when she is at school she needs to print!)   

The next couple of days I’m going to be posting some of my thoughts and concerns and basically ‘hashing things out’ (as Aaron would say!) on my blog.  Please comment with any of your thoughts and ideas on the subject.  I’d love to hear them!  I know I have at least two blog readers who homeschool (Heather and Nikki).  Is anyone else out there a homeschooling mom?

3 Responses to “The Homeschooling Dilemma: Part 1”


  1. 1 Alison December 3, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Dean and I have been discussing homeschooling since before I got pregnant with Charlotte. I’m a product of public school (& a crappy school system at that) who turned out pretty good (um…turned out pretty WELL). As a first grade teacher with 5 years experience, I can say that the system is certainly flawed. I like the idea of exposing C to Christian education and having the freedom to explore things that interest her, plus limiting her exposure to certain public school problems. My main worry is, can I do the job? Can I give her what she needs; can we afford it (i.e. extra-curricular, foreign language, extra classes, etc.) Would I want to traditional homeschool or unschool (Dean and I are slightly split on this–I tend to have hippie tendencies on many things :)? What would I do with Ivy? Do I want to be with C all day, every day and night? (Truth be told, she can be a handful.) Interested to see what you come up with.

  2. 2 Heather December 3, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Our children are 90% of what they get from home. Church and school only reinforce (or take away from) the other 10%. This was a direct quote from the principal of the boys’ Christian school. I’ve always wanted to hs, but my husband was opposed. My thought was “If it’s 90% our responsibility to raise our kids, then why would private school get 30% of our income.” One year ago, my husband had a change of heart and began to consider the hs option. We’re one third of the way through this year and it is amazing the PEACE we feel. There is a stillness, a calm that has settled on our entire family. When my boys don’t feel well, we take it easy and by lunch they are resting. I dreaded making those calls before “Is he too sick to go to school today?” There is so much laughter in our home now, before we were so stressed out. They went to school for almost 8 hours each day, then had 1-2 hours of homework each evening. Someone else got the best part of my boys each day. Now, I get that joy! Life is good!

  3. 3 lsaufley December 3, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Alison–one thing that I have been reading up on is the idea of “half-home schooling”. I am interested in that. It is the idea that kids whose parents pay taxes–which is every kid–should have access to anything that is offered in public schools. I have read about some kids that take a few classes (usually the language classes, or band, or other specialized things) in public school and the rest they get at home. That may be an option–not sure how NC is about that but apparently it is an option in the county we live in in NC.

    I was going to comment some more–but I’ll wait and get into some other thoughts in my next post!

    Heather–I can’t wait to feel this Peace thing you talk about!!! School is stressful for the whole family. Our mornings are complete chaos. Get Annagrace up, fix her lunch, make sure her back pack is packed, get her on the bus, get myself ready for work, get Madalyn ready for preschool, drop her off, etc. etc. etc. It’s madness around here and I hate it. And I didn’t even mention what a BEAR Annagrace is in the morning. She is definitely not a morning person at all!


Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

