I Guess Bre@st is Best!

Time to brag on my kid a little bit:

We have always known that Annagrace was an exceptionally smart child.  She was always ahead of the books in reaching her milestones (first word at 6 months, walking at 9 1/2 months, reading at age 4, adding and subtracting at 4) and breezed right through Pre-K and Kindergarten. 

This year we have really started to see just how special she is.  She is grasping concepts that kids four years older than her problems with.  She has taught herself how to write in cursive and has started (on her own) to learn multiplication.  We actually printed her off a table and she was upset that it was already filled in because she wanted to do it herself! 

Apparently she overheard a conversation I had with Aaron about breastfeeding contributing to her smartness (I have always said that since she was little, half-joking and half-serious!).  After all, I’ve gotta get some of the credit for it!  She told me tonight that she had this conversation with one of her friends:

                                 Friend:  “Annagrace how did you get so smart?”
                                 Annagrace:  “Well my mom thinks it’s from breastfeeding.”

LOL!  Too funny!  And just to clarify, she is not STILL breastfeeding–that’s just gross.  I breastfed both of my girls–Annagrace for about 4 months and Madalyn for about 5 months.  I totally would have nursed them longer if it wasn’t for my job situation.  It was total chaos trying to pump at work and just didn’t work for me at all.  (Then with Madalyn I was in home health and that was even crazier!). 

I totally think that all women should at least try breastfeeding.  I’m not a nazi about it like some of the breastfeeding coaches at the hospital.  I do think it’s best for the baby but I also think that moms need to decide for themselves.  It’s crazy to think that back in the 70’s all the experts told moms that formula was much better for their babies.  My mom has said that she never had any desire to nurse me or my brother and that it definitely wasn’t a thing that was encouraged back then.  (Of course, moms back then also smoked while they were pregnant and drove around holding the baby in their arms!).   

What do you moms out there think?  Did you nurse your babies?  How long?  Did you feel pressured into it or did you do it because you wanted to? 

And what do you all think about long term breastfeeding?  Aaron and I watched this story below about a mom whose kid is still breastfeeding at 8 years old.  I’m sorry, but that is disturbing!  The kids would draw pictures of their mom’s boobs and even had names for them.  The one little girl talked about how she didn’t know why anyone would ever want to stop nursing!  Those poor children.  Oh the therapy they are going to need one day!!!  This is totally disturbing to me–don’t say I didn’t warn you!  What do you all think?!

13 Responses to “I Guess Bre@st is Best!”


  1. 1 Alison November 19, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Video: eeessshhh!
    I nursed Charlotte for 13 months (though not so much after 11–mainly bedtime).
    Still going strong on Ivy at 5 months, though this one has had formula several times (she’s a meanie!)
    Back to the video: EEEESSSHHH!! And eeessshhh again!!!

  2. 2 lsaufley November 19, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    My response was the same. Actually, it made me sick on my stomach. UGH!

  3. 3 Myra November 19, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I nursed all of my children (even my twins) for 1 year (except for Zachary… I nursed him for 10 months, then he drank goats milk which is the closes to thing to breastmilk… I was 17 then and trying to get through my senior year in high school). At age 1, it was just a natural weaning process… nothing that I did really… they were done and so was I.
    I may faulter to the “nazi”-side of thinking that every mother should breastfeed… I really don’t want to be that way so I try hard to understand that all situations are different. I feel very proud of nursing my children and I know how special it is and it seriously makes me sad that some moms/babies miss out on that.
    I wasn’t going to watch the video… now I wish that I hadn’t… Let me just say that I believe that you can do overdo anything until becomes sin (you can eat until it’s sin, you can drink until it’s sin, you can talk until it sin, etc.)

  4. 4 Heather November 19, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    I think that I need therapy after watching that. Dear me, dear me…EWWWWW!!!!

  5. 5 Heather November 19, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    And I did bf the boys…my first until almost 18 months, the twins “self weaned” at 11 months…I’m all about it, in the proper time and place….EWWWWWW!

  6. 6 Nikki Brungard November 19, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I hope they got paid well for that documentary b/c they’re going to need it for those girls’ therapy. I am beyond creeped out.

  7. 7 Melissa November 19, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    So, I am not going to even view that video because it sounds like it would scar me for life. I have heard of some moms breastfeeding for very long periods of time, but I got to say at the age of these kids you really need to stop. If you seriously think breastmilk is best for this age, then pump it because to me that is just really wrong to be breastfeeding children that old. And yes, they seriously will need some therapy. As for whether to breastfeed or not, I fall into the category of thinking it is best. I guess I will find out when it comes my time if I will be able to do it 🙂

  8. 8 Heidi @ GGIP November 19, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    The average age of weaning worldwide is estimated between 3- 4 years old. The LOWEST estimate you can find for worldwide is 2 years old.

    It is only here that people are encouraged to stop at 12 month old, although the American Academy of Pediatrics now encourages bfing till 2 years old if the mom and child are both willing.

    I’ve never hear of an 8 year old.

  9. 9 Myra November 19, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    PS- Way to go Annagrace!! You have lots to be proud of momma!

  10. 10 Cribb November 20, 2008 at 7:03 am

    OK, weirdo on the video, but good post! I was breastfed almost until 2 years old…I tell my mom that’s why I’m such a genious ; )

    Plus who wants to pay for formula? Even if a person is on WIC (a great program, might I add), the formula is not “free”, because everyone (including WIC participants, if they work) pays for it. The program even offers some supplies and loaner pumps, which is STILL cheaper than the formula. A lot of women that we see, even if they don’t breastfeed long, at least try to…hopefully in part due to some of our efforts. Some people think it’s weird and unnatural and to them I want to say, “What do you think they did before formula?” But I don’t, because I definitely try not to be nazi-like either.

  11. 11 Amber Ferguson November 20, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I BF my first girl til she was 10 months old and then got pregnant so she weaned herself….fastforward to now and my second is 10 and I am pregnant again…she has not weaned herself, but I am only BF at morning and night. =) I love it, it is free, and good for them!

  12. 12 lsaufley November 20, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Just so no one freaks out–I think Amber meant to say her second is 10 MONTHS, not 10 years old! LOL! (I checked your photos on your blog just to be sure I was correct in saying that!)

  13. 13 Nissa November 23, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    My stomach lurched while watching. Those poor little girls. I think it’s wierd to breastfeed past the age where they can hold their own cups. That’s just my opinion.

    Unfortunately, I was unable to breastfeed my kids. With my son, we couldn’t get him to latch on. Eventually, you’re forced to supplement with a bottle, and he didn’t want anything to do with the breast after that.
    With my daughter, I couldn’t breastfeed due to medications I had to take. I don’t think my children have been negatively impacted by it, though.. I hope not, at least!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

