Friday Family Fun Night

Annagrace asked me the other day if Friday’s could be our family game night.  We have been so busy lately and have not been spending much quality time with the kids so I guess she’s starting to sense that.  Anyway, the same day that she said that I happened to read on Susanne’s blog about her family fun nights and she linked up to Heather’s blog about her themed family fun nights.  I knew the girls–especially Annagrace–would LOVE this idea.  And I knew just where to start!

So last night we had our “Kung Fu Panda” Asian family fun night!  We love to watch movies and couldn’t wait for this to come out on DVD!

I bought these dishes a long time ago at the thrift store–they were brand new, still in the packages and I bought two sets.  This is the first time we have used them!

ffn-1    

I let Annagrace try on my sari.  I bought this in India a long time ago and Annagrace had always wanted to try it on. 

ffn-2

Of course, we had to have Chinese food (takeout, of course.  You really didn’t think I was going to cook did you?!) 

There is a special feature on the “Kung Fu Panda” movie about how to eat with chopsticks (there is also a really cool feature that shows a chef making noodles–it’s quite fascinating!).  Here is Madalyn giving the chopsticks a try:

ffn-3

And one of me and Mad Mad! 

ffn-4

I also taught Annagrace how to make paper lanterns–that was one of my favorite things to do when I was little!  I used to make them all the time!  And after eating and putting the movie on I promptly laid down on the couch and passed out.  (Leave it to me to ruin family fun night by falling asleep!  What can I say–it’s been a long long week!) 

Next time I’ll have a little more time to plan things out.  Anngrace loved it and she just asked me what we are going to do for our next family fun night!  I’ll definitely be checking out Heather and Susanne’s blogs for ideas!

3 Responses to “Friday Family Fun Night”


  1. 1 Heather November 15, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Good for you! The guys watched the movie last night during my crop, but I have stuff to make shrimp fried rice tonight and “watch” it with them…I bet I pass out like you did!

  2. 2 Heidi November 16, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    That looks like a lot of fun. the food is making me hungry…

  3. 3 Susanne Reeder November 16, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    This is SO COOL!!!

    I am definitely going to be putting this one in the archives for future reference. Thanks for the idea… and the blog love!

    Have a great week!!!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

