ORAM: Living Room

This has been the best ORAM (One Room A Month) so far.  We’re continuing to work on little projects here and there to get the house ready to go on the market–hopefully in January.  Last weekend we tackled the living room.  I was NOT looking forward to this.  For one, the walls were green before.  I loved the green but I knew it would be crazy hard to cover the paint.  

Here are some befores in all it’s messy, cluttered glory.  Notice the sleeping child on the floor and the blue chalk all over the wall in the middle of the mantle peice!  This is from the kitchen looking towards the front of the house. 

living-room-before-1

This is by the front door looking in.  To the left of the photo is the doorway into the kitchen.  I had some photos of the girls hanging on that large back wall but took them down before I took this photo!

living-room-2-before

This photo was taken last summer–we had since changed the rug (moved it upstairs) and had changed the furniture around since this photo was taken.  Looking back, I don’t know why we did that.  The room looks have way decent in this photo:

living-room-before-3

I decided that we needed to paint a more neutral color.  Although we liked the green we figured that potential home buyers might not!  We painted over the green with a simple tan color (I can’t think of the color name right now) and we painted the trim white.  Then we brought that checkered rug back downstairs and rearranged the furniture, mirror and framed prints. 

Here are some after photos.  This is at the front door looking in.  The tv table is to the left of this photo up against that wall.  The color is hard to see in this photo because the lamps make it look yellow.     

after-living-room-11

I LOVE the mirror and the photos arranged like this.  I have always wanted the couch on that wall and could never figure out how to do it with the big tv table.  This works and I love it like this! 

This is from the kitchen doorway looking in.  My new canvas arrives tomorrow and I can’t wait to see how it looks over the mantle!  We were thinking about getting rid of our furniture because it is so big but so far it is working like this and we may keep it, steam clean it and freshen up the look with some new pillows. 

after-living-room-2 

This is looking into the kitchen–excuse the MESS!  This is the typical state of our house right now as we try to get everything done around here!  Notice my SIMPLIFY sign over the door.  I love it.  That is the motto I try to live by!  That pyramid was made in Indonesia and was one of my most favorite Christmas gifts ever!  (Thanks honey!)   

after-living-room-3

And one last one of the wall of photos.  Notice Buddy the dog perched on the back of the couch.  I think that dog thinks he’s a cat! 

living-room-after-4

Feels SO good to have this room done.  We still need to get pillows and I am going to put up some curtains–I think I’m just going to do valances because I like being able to see the plantation blinds.

This week and weekend we are going to start tackling the upstairs master bathroom.  We have to paint the walls, paint the trim (including the door,  2 closet doors, 2 dormer doors, around the jacuzzi tub, and a built in bookshelf!), paint the cabinet, make a new shower curtain and curtains for two windows, and get new plantation blinds.  I gave my walk in closet a good cleaning and got rid of several bags of clothes a couple weeks ago and also got one of the dormers cleaned so luckily that is out of the way!      

6 Responses to “ORAM: Living Room”


  1. 1 Heather November 12, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Everything is looking FAB! You’re doing a great job getting it ready for the next family. What street are you on? What’s the sq. ft? Are you selling it yourself or using a realtor? If I hear of someone who needs a home, I’ll send them your way!

  2. 2 lsaufley November 13, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I’ll send you a message with our address! it’s a dead end street and we’re at the end so it’s a perfect location. It’s about 1600 square feet with a huge master bedroom and master bath with a walk in closet and a jacuzzi tub! 3 beds, 2 baths. Lots of storage. Fenced in back yard. Did I mention the location?! It’s perfect for a family–the kids can play on the street with chalk, ride their bikes, etc and it’s very safe! (Kind of like your neighborhood, Heather!) We are going to use Massanutten Realty. Hopefully it will go on the market in January.

  3. 3 Melissa November 13, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Everything is looking beautiful! I love the new color and the way you arranged everything! You guys are doing such an awesome job 🙂

  4. 4 lsaufley November 13, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks Melissa! See those little pilgrim people? I got those from you when you were doing Home Interior–was that the company you sold stuff through? I still have my greenery and a candle too (that still smells good after 5 years! It’s the baby powder one and I haven’t burned it all the way down yet!)

  5. 5 Melissa November 14, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Ah yes, Home and Garden Party. I still have several things from that, though all my candles have definitely been burnt completely out! That was a LONG time ago when I was still in Hilton Head.

  6. 6 lsaufley November 14, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Yes–Annagrace wasn’t even born yet and she’s almost 7 now!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

