Stupid, Aggravating Day

There are other words I could use to describe my day but since this blog is rated G I better leave it at that.  Here’s how my day went.

9am:  Trip to the ED to have my stupid finger looked at.  The doctor sliced it open (and didn’t even clean it first!  I couldn’t believe it!) and drained pus out of it then the nurse put antibiotic cream and this crazy bandage on it.  

 finger

10:30am:  Go to work and find out that I am not allowed to see patients today because I have an “open draining wound”.  In actuality, my wound is not draining now because the doctor got it all out.  But it’s the rules so I have to move all my patients to tomorrow.  Good thing I had nothing planned for tomorrow! 

11:00am:  Log onto my bank account and realize that I’ve overdrawn my account–YES, again.  I totally forgot about a $285 check that had not cleared yet (that I wrote 6 weeks ago!).  So I have to drive home (20 minutes one way) to pick up my credit card (because I don’t carry it in my wallet anymore) so that I can pay for my prescriptions. 

1:30pm:  Back to work for our RN “skills day”.  Went well.  I changed that silly bandage because it was falling off by this point.  My finger looked better but was still very red and swollen. 

3:45pm:  Go to pharmacy and then to Target to get some wall anchors so that we can get our living room back in order from painting this weekend.  Get a pumpkin spice latte at Starbucks–yummy. 

yum 

4:45pm:  Almost hit a deer on the way home.  By almost, I mean missed it by less than 6 inches.  I swerved into the other lane an lucikly the car coming the other way had stopped or I would have hit them.  Very scary!

Now:  Back home.  Finger hurts–going to take some Tylenol with Codeine in a little bit.  Trying to blog–difficult with a bandaged finger–then going to work on editing some photos.  Then going to take my drugs, change my bandage, and veg out while Biggest Loser is on!  How was everyone elses’ day?!

5 Responses to “Stupid, Aggravating Day”


  1. 1 Melissa November 11, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Okay, your day was definitely worse than mine! I just got irritated as all get out about the crappy traffic mess of downtown Columbia today. Apparently not only was there a parade for the Veterans that blocked off most of downtown but a water main broke taking out another main street. So, Jason was 45 minutes late for his follow-up appointment at the doctor! Luckily the appointment went well, but the traffic drove me quite insane!

    Hope your finger is feeling better really soon!

  2. 2 lsaufley November 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks! It already feels better tonight. I can bend it now so that’s improvement! I could hardly dry my hair this morning it was so bad and I just moved the couch around on the living room so it’s definitely feeling better!

  3. 3 Susanne Reeder November 11, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    So sorry about your finger!!! Hope it starts feeling better soon!!

    Pumpkin Spice Latte…MMMMMMmmmm GOOD!!

  4. 4 Karen February 26, 2009 at 11:13 am

    My finger looks just like yours. I can’t see my doctor today and I’m trying to decide if i should go to urgent care for this or wait it out till tomorrow morning. It’s been throbbing since yesterday evening at 5:00 -right when all the doctor’s offices close. If I had known yesterday that I wouldn’t be able to see my doctor today I would have just gone to urgent care. I think it’s a paronychia concomitant with a felon. I am scheduled to participate in a sports event on Saturday and will need to be able to take a firm grip with my hand. That’ll be only 24 hours after the doctors appt. Is it enough time? Based on your experience, what would you do? Go to urgent care or wait it out for the doctor?

    • 5 lsaufley February 26, 2009 at 9:45 pm

      Karen–I tried to send you an e-mail about it and it didn’t go through. Hopefully you will check back here. I had my finger drained in the ED and by that afternoon it felt MUCH better. They put me on antibiotics and gave me a tetanus shot. The sooner you can get in there the better. Hope it gets better soon! They are so painful!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

