As Promised…some recipes

If you know me you know that cooking it not something that I enjoy.  I hate cooking actually.  I would much rather eat out than cook.  Maybe if I didn’t have to work and had more time I would enjoy it but the thought of coming home after work and having to cook–ugh.  Aaron does a lot of cooking and I really appreciate him for that!   

At Christmas time the mom in me takes over and I actually cook and bake and enjoy it somewhat!  I saw Racheal Ray make this recipe and wanted to try it.  It has become a tradition that I make this on Christmas.  Usually we have a breakfast/brunch meal on Christmas and I love making this.  It is super easy and quick and everyone who has tried it loves it! 

Swiss Bacon Cheese Dip

  •  10 slices bacon
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, Softened
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons dijon-style mustard
  • 1 1/2 cups swiss cheese, Shredded
  • 4 green onions, Chopped
  • 1/2 cup smoked almonds, Chopped

Directions

1.  Fry bacon, drain and chop into small peices.  (Sometime I just use the already cooked kind and it works just fine and is much faster!). 

2.  Mix all ingredients. Bake in 350 degree preheated oven for about 15 minutes; until golden and bubbly. Top with some crushed almonds.  (I usually eliminate the almonds–just my personal taste).

3.  Serve with crackers, carrots and/or bite size pieces of bread.  (I love to use Wheat Thins!).

 

Sweet and Sour Hot Dogs

This one is going to sound weird.  Really weird maybe to some people.  When I was growing up we would have a big Christmas play and then a party at church every year.  I loved it.  Those are some of my favorite memories of church when I was young.  Every year, without fail we would have these little hot dogs at the party.  You had to get to them first because if you waited, they would be gone!  Someone would always make a big crockpot full.  They are delicious even though it sounds like a strange combination!

  • grape jelly
  • mustard
  • hot dogs (I usually make about 2-3 packages at a time)

All you do is cut the hot dogs up into bit size peices.  Place them in the crock pot with an equal amount of mustard and jelly.  Mix it up and let it cook for awhile and the jelly and mustard makes this really good sweet and sour sauce!  Yummy!

1 Response to “As Promised…some recipes”


  1. 1 Melissa November 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    sweet and sour hot dogs also works well with the party size kielbasa bites. Awesome 🙂 Love them!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

