A Productive Day–finally!

I was able to get the day off work today.  I was on call on the weekend and last night (though my pager didn’t go off at all which is highly unusual–thank you Lord for that answered prayer!) so my boss let me be off today.  Aaron and I got a lot done and we still have a lot we are working on (in fact, I need to write this quick and get my butt back upstairs so we have a place to sleep tonight.  The bed is covered in junk to be put away!). 

First stop was Target where I needed to get Fancy Nancy invitations for Madalyn’s birthday party.  She loves Fancy Nancy!  While there, we also got her birthday present (a Fancy Nancy doll), some clearance items (wish I could post photos but they are Christmas presents!), and a few Halloween items that were 50% off (including some dress up clothes for Madalyn). 

Next stop was the thrift store where we dropped all this off:

van-thrift-store

(Does my blackberry take great photos, or what?  This was loaded straight from the phone with no editing at all!)

Then it was off to Second Time Around.  I dropped some things off about a month ago–mostly baby and girls clothes and I made about $25.  So I stopped by on Monday and got some things for Madalyn but one of the pairs of pants was way too small.  So we took those back and dropped off about 6 more items.  I love consignment stores!  What a great way to make a little bit of cash!  Of course, I usually end up spending mine there but I ended up getting Madalyn 3 pairs of pants, two sweaters, a shirt and a pair of boots and I only spent $9 our of pocket!

Our last stop was CVS.  Aaron had to get some meds straightened out (they were suppose to give him 180 tabs of a certain pill and he realized they only gave him 80!  What a big mistake that was!).  So I looked around and found some clearance Halloween candy (to use in Madalyn’s birthday goody bags) and a couple other things.  I haven’t been doing much CVS-ing lately because I haven’t been driving to Harrisonburg as often.  I usually go “to town” about once a week but here lately it has been less than that because I have been working so much. 

So now we are home.  Aaron is out straightening the shed so that we can move about 20 boxes of stuff out there to store until we sell the house.  I am amazed at the amount of stuff that one family can accumulate.  I have been packing and reorganizing and labeling like crazy.  Hopefully this will make for a smoother move once we do sell the house. 

This weekend is going to be our next ORAM.  According to my plans, we should have already done the upstairs bedroom and the outside.  Well, October got a little crazy and we didn’t get that done.  But this weekend we have decided to go ahead and do the living room and I may start working on the upstairs bathroom as well.  I’ll try to remember to take before photos this time! 

That’s it for now.  I’m off to get back to work!   Oooohhh–I did find some fun photos in one of the dormers that I am going to try to get posted on here soon.  They are circa 1990–should be good for some laughs!

2 Responses to “A Productive Day–finally!”


  1. 1 Melissa November 7, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Since you mentioned the consignment store, thought I would mention that my sister just started e-baying some of the kids clothes. She researched it and found that alot of the gymboree stuff and other nice stuff the kids have sell really well on e-bay. The winter clothes season is up, but the spring clothes start selling in January. Just a thought. She made $130 on 12 outfits that she posted.

    Looks like you guys were quite busy on your day off!! Hope you are doing well 🙂

  2. 2 lsaufley November 8, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Wow! That’s awesome! My mom sells on e-bay and I’ve been meaning to get her to teach me how to do it too. I may look into that after we move–hopefully I’ll have more time then!


Leave a Reply

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

