We Love our Movies

We are a movie loving family.  I have always loved movies.  From when we had our old Beta player when I was little (and my brother and I would watch “Superman” and “Star Wars” every single day!) to now when we get Netflix movies in the mail every week.  Aaron is even more obsessed with movies than I am.   I couldn’t tell you how many movies we own.  It’s inconceivable! 

Apparently our love of movies is rubbing off on our kids.  Especially our two year old, Madalyn.  She loves to watch movies.  She can quote most of the lines from “The Wizard of Oz”–which we are watching right now.  She can sing the songs and says quotes that I don’t even know!  Her new favorite is “The Princess Bride”.  Here’s a little clip of her quoting her favorite line from “The Princess Bride”–while dressed as Dorothy from “The Wizard of Oz”:

If you need an interpreter, she just said “Inigo Mantoya.  You killed my father.  Prepare to die!”.  She is such a funny kid!

We are family of movie and tv quoters.  I have always been like that–especially with Saturday Night Live (SNL) skits.  (I have lots of those stuck in my brain from way back when–anyone remember Phillip-the hyper hypo?  How about Toonces the driving cat?  Mr. Short Term Memory?!  Matt Foley the motivational speaker?)  On any given day in our house you may hear one of these little gems:

–“Choncho, I need to borrow some suedes.”  (Nacho Libre)
–“Your mom goes to college.”  (Napoleon Dynamite)
–“Foosball’s the devil!”  (The Waterboy)
–“Inconceivable!”  (The Princess Bride)
–“Say hello to my little friend”  (Scarface)
–“That dog’s got devil eyes”  (SNL skit with character Brian Fellows)
–“Hey there dog.  I like your fur . . . say hi to your mutha for me, okay?”  (SNL skit “Marky Mark talks to animals”–my new fave, just saw it yesterday for the first time!)
–“Ah geez”  (said in our best Sarah Palin/Tina Fey impersonation!)
–“Get that corn outta my face!”  (Nacho Libre)
–“Alright, alright, alright” (Dazed and Confused)
–“Mawiage.  Mawiage is what we are gathered here for today.”  (The Princess Bride)
–“I think I’ll eat it now!”  (Patrick from Spongebob) 
–“Are you serious, Clark?”  (Christmas Vacation)
–“That’s hilarious!”  (Again, Brian Fellows on SNL)
–“I do.  I do.”  (Donnie Wahlberg on “The Sixth Sense”)
–“What we gonna do today?”  (Bambi)
–“I live in a van down by the river.  Living off a steady diet of government cheese . . . ”  (Matt Foley on SNL)

Yes.  We’re dorks.  But I can’t think of a single time that Aaron didn’t look at me and say, “He’s got devil eyes” that I didn’t laugh.  It’s weird–sometimes we will be thinking the exact same film or tv quote and we’ll both say it at the same time!

So here’s my plug for Netflix.  If you haven’t already started doing it you need to like yesterday!  It has saved us a lot of money in rentals and late fees.  We get a new movie–sometimes 2–each week.  I still occasionally go to the video store if Aaron gets one that I don’t care for from Netflix but those trips are very infrequent.  The best part is that it’s only $10 a month for the plan we have.  Much cheaper than going to the movies or renting movies and for a family that loves them as much as we do it’s worth it! 

Speaking of going to the movies–last night Aaron and I saw “Nights in Rodanthe” and today we took the girls to see”Beverly Hills Chihuahua”.  I don’t know when the last time we saw two movies in the theater in one MONTH was, much less one week!  “Nights in Rodanthe” was good–not as great as the book but it was really good.  Bring your tissues because you’ll need them!  I loved seeing NC on the big screen–we even saw a sign for Greenville on there which was pretty cool.  They showed the ferry which was cool to see.  There was a major plot change in the movie from the book that I didn’t like but all in all it was a great chick flick and is worth seeing!  “Beverly Hills Chihuahua” was okay–Annagrace liked it.  There were a few funny moments but it’s not something that I would want to watch again.  Still, hearing Cheech Marin do the voice over for a rat was pretty funny!

Anyone seen any good movies lately?  We are gearing up for the next “Saw” movie that comes out on October 24.  People think we’re crazy for liking such gory movies but I love a good scary movie, especially at this time of year!

2 Responses to “We Love our Movies”


  1. 1 Heather October 12, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Netflix rocks! Reber said he saw something on their website where you can pay a one-time fee of $99 and they send you a box that you can hook up to your TV for instant viewing. That definitely has awesomeness potential, especially since it’s a one-time fee. I’ll have to look into it more.

    Also, Reber is in his scary movie phase since it’s October. I always think I hate scary movies, but then I watch them and they’re usually ok. Except for the time he “tricked” me into watching the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and I don’t know what on earth made him think I would like that movie but I HATED IT!! However, I LOVE the Saw movies. We’ve even seen a couple in the theater. I like how they actually have a plot and are not just gross for the sake of being gross. Shutter was ok (just got it from Netflix)….started sucky but got better at the end. One Missed Call was totally stupid.

    OK, this comment is getting too long…peace out!

  2. 2 lsaufley October 12, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    We need to go see the new Saw movie together! We can’t wait! October 24! We watched the first one last night and we are going to try to watch the other 3 before the new one comes out. Wasn’t it weird that by the fourth one you kind of felt sorry for Jigsaw? I love ’em!


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

