I Did It. I’m a Blackberrier.

I finally joined the real world and got my own personal cell phone!  Aaron and I had cell phones many years ago and then we decided that we really didn’t need them and canceled the plan.  I have been using my work phone ever since. 

Here’s the crappy thing–my work phone only gives me 200 minutes a month and if I go over I am charged 50 cents PER MINUTE!  200 minutes is not nearly enough to check my work voice mail, call my patients, call MD offices, return pages, etc.  I am usually over by up to 400 minutes a month.  So you can do the math and see that I am wasting a lot of money every month on that stupid phone.  Usually I have about $150 taken out of my check every month to pay for that phone.

So I decided to go ahead and get my own.  I went with Alltel because that is who my work phone is from (and because the Sprint store was way too crowded tonight!).   I went with the Blackberry Pearl. There are so many functions and buttons and applications on this phone it’s crazy.

The plan I got gives me 500 minutes a month, with unlimited after 7pm and on the weekends. Then I have 10 people in my circle that I can call “free” all the time. I also got unlimited e-mail and internet (including a facebook application!). I got all that for $90 a month. So I am still saving money because before I was paying $150 and sometimes more from my check for my work phone!  I like having the internet because I can access mapquest if I get lost somewhere and I am hoping that I’ll be able to get on my work website and look up patient test results, information, etc when I’m at their home. 

Now if I can figure out how to work the dang thing . .. . The only thing I’ve figured out so far is how to add ringtones (of course, I added a New Kids one first!). It is a little overwhelming that’s for sure!

Anyone else have this phone? Does this sound like a good plan? I have 15 days to cancel if I change my mind and they gave me 30 days with the phone because it is so complicated (seriously, the girl told me they extend the length of time on the Blackberries because they have a “learning curve”!).

3 Responses to “I Did It. I’m a Blackberrier.”


  1. 1 hcribb October 7, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Sorry, I can’t help you. You are definitely in the realm of “way cooler than me” now because my phone is 4 years old!!

  2. 2 Melissa October 7, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Well, I have to agree with Heather…you are also “way cooler than me.” My phone is only about a year old but it doesn’t have any bells and whistles (takes pics and supposedly plays music–but I don’t really use either feature). I hear the blackberries are really cool though. Good luck with it…I’m sure you’ll be an expert in no time 🙂

  3. 3 lsaufley October 7, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    It’s a smaller blackberry which I like but man does it have a lot of functions! I can get on the internet anywhere now and it’s unlimited. I also get my e-mail sent directly to my phone which I like. It’s crazy. I basically carry a computer around in my pocket, ya know? It’s amazing. Who would’ve thought 10 years ago that this would be possible?!


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

