ORAM: Downstairs Bathroom/Girls’ Room

This is my second installment of One Room a Month!  We decided to really get busy this weekend and we knocked out TWO rooms!  Originally we hadn’t thought that the bathroom would need much more than a new floor.  However, after some thinking I decided that it really needed a good update.  Stupid me forgot to take before photos!

The bathroom before featured an off white linoleum tile floor (and the tiles were starting to seperate), an oak medicine cabinet, oak sink cabinet, old dirty one knob faucet, and old gold (UGLY) light fixture.  Here is the update bathroom:

This is looking in from the girls’ room.  I painted the cabinet black and added new silver knobs.  The floor is peel and stick linoelum tiles (I love the new darker color).  And here is another view:

 

We added a new faucet and a new light fixture.  I don’t have a photo of the light fixture installed yet but this is it:

That photo got a little distorted, but you get the idea.

We had A LOT of trouble in the girls’ room.  It was a dark yellow color to start out with.  You can kind of see it here–I didn’t think to take photos until I had already started painting.  The new color is over the door and the old is by the window and over the t.v.  

Anyway, I thought that the color would cover pretty good but I was so so so wrong.  After almost a whole gallon of paint and four coats on ONE wall I decided to go get more primer and paint and start over.  It still took a coat of primer, 3 coats of paint and still needs a few touch ups along the top of the walls and around and over the doors and windows. 

I don’t have finished photos yet–I’ll try to add those later this week.  It’s too dark to get a good photo now and the bed still has junk on it to be put away!  We also need closet doors.  And just for the record, that closet is staying pink!  Here is a photo of the inside of the closet and my labeler put to good use:

I LOVE that Madalyn can only have a box at a time instead of stuff being all over the room.  I also love that the crayons, markers and pens and pencils can be put way up high out of the reach of both of them!

So Aaron is starting to work on the outside a little bit.  I think our next project inside may be the bedroom and bathroom upstairs.  That is going to be a lot of painting but it really needs to be done. 

I am just ready to get this done, get this house finished, get it sold and move on!

5 Responses to “ORAM: Downstairs Bathroom/Girls’ Room”


  1. 1 Aaron September 30, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I don’t want to do another room until next month. Wait… that’s tomorrow. Crap.

  2. 2 Heather September 30, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I love boxes and labels…We’ve used that system since the boys were babies. One box at a time, clean up one before the next comes out, store they WAY UP HIGH so only mom and dad can get them down. It also helps when we have visitors, the ones who like to dump every single toy that my kids own, and still whine that there is nothing to do…

  3. 3 Jen @ the cubicle's backporch September 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I like the red closet, that adds a nice touch to the room!

    The bathroom looks great too- nice, clean, and more of an updated look. (If I’m mentally picturing it correctly!) 🙂

  4. 4 Melissa September 30, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    It’s looking really great!!

  5. 5 Heather October 1, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Oh, yeah…The rooms look great. You are doing a super job prepping it to sell!


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

