One More Post: My Teething 3 Year Old

Just one more quick post for tonight.  Madalyn has a new tooth coming in!  Yes, I know.  It’s completely and utterly ridiculous since she is almost three years old.  My dad has jokingly said she was ‘snaggle toothed’–we all just assumed that she was born with a missing tooth.  I figured that eventually she would get more teeth and they would fill in the gap.  About 3 weeks ago Aaron was brushing her teeth and he said, “Did you know Madalyn has a tooth coming in?”  Crazy.  Can you see it?  Over on her left–it’s one of her canine teeth!

 

And my final thought for tonight.  Well, my first thought for this morning since it’s well after midnight now.  My friend Nikki is a genius.  She had the neatest idea for keeping up with all the cute things that her kids have said and I am totally stealing the idea.  I thought, wow–I need to share that with my blog readers.  I always have good intentions of writing my cute kid stories down (like the time I complained about another driver being ‘on my tail’ and Annagrace pointing out to me that “Mama, you don’t have a tail!”.  Or the time when I was preggers and she asked me if I could swallow a Polly Pocket so that Madalyn would have something to play with) but I never take the time to do it.  Here is a very easy way to get into the habit of writing things down.  Get you a little index card notebook like this one:

and dedicate a separate page for each cute little thing that is said.  Be sure to write which child said it and the date!  I had a great time reading through her books and reading the silly things that her kids said.  Her two year old, Simeon (who has a thing for the ladies–including my daughter Annagrace!) has one that is classic.  He said, “Mom, ya know those guys who hurt Jesus? I’m going to punch them in the wiener.”  LOL!!!! 

So I bought my little book tonight and am hoping to fill it with all kinds of silly goodness in the coming months!  Thanks Nikki for the fantabulous idea!

5 Responses to “One More Post: My Teething 3 Year Old”


  1. 1 Nikki Brungard September 23, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I LOVE being called a genius! Hurray for flippable index cards! Enjoy! 🙂

  2. 2 Heidi September 23, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    All kids do things at their own pace. Very cute picture though.

    We have a journal to write the cute things said in. The notecard approach is a great idea too.

  3. 3 Mom September 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

    She is sooooo cute!

    Love, Grammy

  4. 4 Brandynn June 22, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    My daughter is 3yrs, 3 mos and also has been a snaggle-tooth. The dentist said there is a tooth up there but that it was impacted and couldn’t come down because it was stuck. But that eventually it would come through when her permanent teeth pushed it out. I figured that would be years away. But the last few days she’s been extra fussy and when brushing her teeth I noticed the gums in the snaggle-tooth space looked white, like when a baby gets teeth. It’s her canine tooth, too, except on the right side. She’s our 4th child and it’s so strange to have one teething at 3 years old. But I’m thankful to have found your site to know it’s not just us. (I googled 3 year old teething) Quite a curious thing.


  1. 1 My Funny Kids « Counting My Pennies Trackback on November 17, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

