A Few of My Favorite Things

Since it’s midnight and I am nowhere near sleepy I thought I’d post again.  Haven’t shared favorite things in awhile, so here we go.

Burt’s Bees Orange Essence Facial Cleanser

I have mentioned this one before, but it’s so great I wanted to mention it again!  Not only does it wake me up in the morning with a wonderful citrus smell but it’s a great cleanser.  My face has been really clear since I switched to organic products. 

Tom’s of Maine Toothpaste

Someone recommended that I also switch to organic toothpaste to help with breakouts on my chin.  So now I use Tom’s of Maine.  It was really working and I got out of the habit of using it and guess what?  Breakouts like crazy again.  So I guess it was a good test and it passed the test . Back to the Tom’s for m!  

Flip Camcorder

OH.  MY.  GOODNESS.  How I LOVE this thing!  I just got it Friday night.  I had some crazy overtime hours last week and I have been wanting one of these for a long time so I bit the bullet and got it.  I am always complaining that we don’t take videos of our kids.  I don’t have any of our kid’s birthdays, or Christmases or anything on video.  We technically don’t even own a video camera–we use our church camera on those rare occasions that we want to video something.  Enter the FLIP camera. 

This magnificent little thing will record for up to 60 minutes.  It has no memory card–you simply plug it in to your USB port and away you go!  It takes 2 AA batteries.  It is shear genius.  Now I can pop that thing right in my pocketbook and go.  I’ll never have to complain again about lack of videos.  The resolution is better than a cell phone camera.  It’s not as great as a ‘real’ camcorder, but for what we want it for it’s fine.  It even has cables so you can hook it directly to your t.v.  And it has a thing on the bottom for a tripod.  I’m telling you, it’s amazing and it is completely and totally worth every penny spent on it.  Add this to your Christmas list.  Seriously!  You will not be disappointed!!!

Mr. Clean Magic Erasers

What person with a child doesn’t love these things?  They have been a gift from God.  I have used them on so many things.  Just tonight I noticed that my very artistic six year old had decided it would be a good idea to use crayon to draw on her white metal frame bed.  Magic Erasers saved the day.  I use them on my stovetop too–nothing else gets them that clean.  I don’t know what is in them.  It could be some toxic chemical and one day when the next generation of clean freaks all have 3 eyes we will find out.  But for now, it makes my life a little bit easier!  You can get a free one HERE.

Dymo LetraTag

I had one of these about two years ago.  (I love organizing things–it’s just not always easy for me to keep things that way!)  Unfortunately, Annagrace broke my first one beyond repair.  I had been putting off buying another one but decided today was the day.  Annagrace and I bought ten plastic storage containers to use in her’s and Madalyn’s room to organize their toys.  I decided I just had to have another label maker.  So there ya go.  And now all the toys are neatly organized in their little boxes and they all have sweet little labels on them.  (I’ll add a photo later this week).  The refills come in white paper, white plastic and clear.  I personally prefer the white plastic ones.    

So those are my current “don’t think I can live without it” products!

4 Responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things”


  1. 1 Kristen August 25, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Check out this website for some interesting information about the Magic Eraser. http://www.truthorfiction.com/rumors/c/cleaningproducts.htm

  2. 2 Melissa August 25, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    The flip camcorder looks really cool!! My digital camera does some videos, but I have no idea how to put them into any format to share with others. I guess I should look into that!

    I also love the Dymo Letra Tag. I have one and I love to label things just to label them…I am an organizing freak!!

  3. 3 Heidi August 25, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Magic Erasers are one of my favorite products too! It is a copolymer (read type of plastic) foam and it works by sortof micro-abrasion which is why they disintigrate. SO your kids probably shouldn’t use it because they might get an abrasion like rug burn(you will see that on the label), but they sure do work really great!!

  4. 4 lsaufley August 25, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Yeah–I had heard about rashes that kids had gotten from using it. They are awesome. Whoever invented them is a genius. Absolute genius!

    And Melissa–you definitely need a Flip Camera! It is awesome! I can’t wait to get some more videos of the kiddos! Tomorrow’s the first day of school so it’ll be a good time to get it out again!


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

