The Cheapest Family in America

Here is a video about ways this family saves money on groceries.  This family of 6 gets their groceries for $350 a month.  I know of people who do a little better than that–Crystal over on Money Saving Mom has a weekly budget of $40–so her monthly budget is around $160 (she has two small children which definitely makes a difference as opposed to having teenagers).  So how much do YOU spend a month?  What is your weekly/monthly budget?

This is something I want to work on–sticking to a budget in this department!  I used to go to the grocery store about every 10 days or so, not pay any attention to sales or prices and would spend around $150-$200.  Which made our grocery budget around $400-500 a month.  Now I go almost weekly, clip coupons and usually spend around $75 a week.  So I’m averaging around $300 a week.  I know I can do better than that! 

Leave me comments and let me know what your budget is!  I’m curious to see  how much different size families spend.

Coming this week . . . I’m gonna start posting about staging and preparing our home to sell.  This will be the second time we have sold a house so we are starting to become ‘experts’ at it!  (Our first home was bought for $85,000 and we sold it three years later for $114,000.  It’s amazing what a little improvements here and there will make!)  We have a goal to have our house on the market around the first part of 2009 so we have a lot to do before then!  I’ll be posting before and after photos of each room and what we do to it.  My goal is to spend as little money as possible and get back as much as possible when we sell it!

First up will be the office/guest room which we just painted last night and Aaron finished up today.  It looks 100% better!

6 Responses to “The Cheapest Family in America”


  1. 1 Heather August 23, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Well you know it is just us two…I probably spend $30-40 2x/month at Sharp Shopper, $15/week at the vegetable store, sometimes a trip to Kroger/Martins for about $20, and at Wal-Mart I would estimate about $50/month on food. So I guess the grand total is $210 if I had to guess. Honestly I really don’t keep track. That comes out to about $1.16 per meal if we both eat 3 meals a day. I think that’s pretty good because I try to have a good mix of healthy and fresh foods in with the frozen junk and hot dogs that Reber likes. Have you ever seen in those magazines where they make a big deal that they feed 4 people for under $20? Duh, that’s easy. You keep up the good work!!

  2. 2 lsaufley August 23, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Wow–I’m surprised Heather that you don’t have an exact amount for each month! I went to Martin’s last night and spent more than normal but we had to get back to school stuff for Annagrace!

  3. 3 Melissa August 23, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Weird, I just had a similar discussion with a friend of mine about budgets. Her hubby always wants to go out to eat and she just wants to stay in. So, she wanted to know our exact budget for food. Ours fluctuates quite a bit depending upon whether we are home or if we are eating out. This is an area that we just discussed getting more control over, so that we are eating out less. (Granted eating out for us is usually like maybe 1 or 2 times a week). Hubby just agreed to help more with the cooking so I get a break rather than having to fix 3 meals a day, 7 days a week 🙂 So, that will definitely make a difference for us in our budget. For the most part, I would say we stay in the $300 range for the month.

    Good luck with your home improvements. I am sure it will look awesome 🙂

  4. 4 lsaufley August 23, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    We eat out way too much too. I think the fact that I work has a lot to do with it. By the time I get home and finish my paperwork for the day it’s usually well after 5 pm and by that time, who wants to cook? We either throw a pizza in the oven or go to Subway or get Chinese take out. I need to get back to my crock-potting! I was doing pretty good trying out new recipes. That way I can throw stuff in in in the morning and it’ll be ready when I get home!

  5. 5 Renee Taylor September 9, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I don’t know if you know about http://www.angelfoodministries.com but you just go to the website and type in your zipcode and a list of participating churches pops up. You can order online. You get $70 worth of food for $30 and they have other boxes you can buy like a grill box of meat, and it lists what you get each month for $25 or a produce box, also changes each month for $20. I get the regular box and the produce box for $50 and it feeds us almost the whole month. The only other meat I buy is chicken breasts or if I get a bonus, fresh fish. You can buy as many boxes as you want and you don’t have to meet any income guidelines. They accept money and foodstamps. Check it out.

  6. 6 lsaufley September 9, 2008 at 8:55 am

    One of my patients uses this and she said it’s good food. I’ll have to get the info (we have flyers out about it at work) and I’ll post about it soon! I think I might try it out. My family is picky so I bet we’d have to supplement it with a few things here and there! Thanks Renee!


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

