It’s Official (Very Long Post!)

We are moving to Greenville, NC.  Some of you already know this.  Some of you don’t.  Some of you probably don’t care.  But we have “officially” decided that come next year, our house will go on the market.   We will be finding new jobs, new schools, new doctors, new insurance agents, etc, etc, etc and we will be moving our family of 4 to NC.  It is exciting but overwhelming.  I’m happy but scared all rolled into one.  I thought I’d take a chance to explain our decision and through the next few months I’ll be sharing the journey both here and on my other blog

It all started about 4 months ago.  Well, let me rewind a little further and tell the ‘back story’.  Back in 1998, Aaron and I attended a service at Forefront Church in Virginia Beach.  We were totally shocked because it was not anything like the little country churches that we had grown up in.  The messages were relevant to our lives, the music was loud (and some of it secular) and the people were genuine.  Aaron had a vision of starting a church in his home town that was like Forefront.  A place where people could discover Jesus and be themselves.  It was a long bumpy ride (I could seriously write a book) that lead us to where we are now.  Aaron now leads a network of organic, or home, churches.  We currently have four that meet in various places around the county.

Moving so far away from home was hard for me.  I have been homesick often and as much as I tried to make Rockingham County home, I have realized that it will never be home to me.  I am a Tarheel–born and bred and will always call North Carolina home.  I left family, friends and the comfort of familiarity to move with Aaron.  I knew that at the time it was exactly what God wanted us to do and I wouldn’t go back and change it for anything.  We have been here for 8 1/2 years now.  It still doesn’t really feel like home to me, but I am comfortable here.  I have a job that I love, co-workers who are second to none and an awesome church family.  So why leave? 

Well, back to four months ago.  I traveled home to NC–just me and my two girls–to visit my family for a long weekend.  Unfortunately, due to my work schedule I don’t get to make those trips too much.  (It is about a 5 1/2 hour trip there so to be able to travel down and not have to rush right back I really have to take Friday or Monday off).  It was on that ride back that I felt this heavy urge that I needed to move back home to be closer to my family. 

My mom’s health is not that good.  She has had rheumatoid arthritis for the last 20 years.  Two years ago she became very sick and became septic and honestly, she almost died.  She was in the hospital for two months.  Since that time it has been a roller coaster with her health.  Like anyone with arthritis, she has her good days and her bad days.  The good days are okay, the bad days can be really bad.  My dad is an awesome caregiver for her but I always feel guilty that I can’t be there to help out. 

I cried a lot on that ride back.  I normally get a little teary eyed when I have to leave home and come back to Virginia.  But on that particular trip both I and Madalyn cried a lot.  Madalyn kept saying over and over that she wanted us to go back to Papa and Grammy’s.  The traffic was terrible.  I was agitated, sad, cranky.  I kept saying that this was not fair.  It was not fair that I was so far from my family.  It was a rough trip and at one point this thought popped into my head that we needed to move to Greenville.  Greenville is about 45 minutes from where I grew up.  For some reason I just kept thinking that that was where we needed to go.  And I thought to myself that I had to tell Aaron. 

Over the last 8 years I have told Aaron a lot that I wanted to move home.  Usually it was in response to one of my mom’s health crises.  And during the birth of my children.  And the birth of my nephews.  All of those were times when I was feeling extrememly homesick.  And Aaron’s typical response was always, “and what am I suppose to do?”  Meaning, “how can I leave our church family?  where will I work?  how can we leave something that we started?”.  So I told myself that I was going to chicken out and not say anything and just deal with it for the next oh, 50 or so years of my life.

Then we stopped at Taco Bell.  We were pretty much the only people there and a man walked in and sat directly in front of me.  I remember thinking, “why is he sitting right in front of us when the whole restaurant is empty?”.  I looked up and he had on a Parker’s BBQ t-shirt.  Parker’s BBQ is a restaurant in Greenville NC.  That was the sign I needed that gave me that push to tell Aaron what I was feeling.

So the next morning I told him and for the first time ever he was actually okay with the idea.  We talked and talked and talked about it.  Then we started praying about it.  And then we started getting these little signs from different places that maybe it wasn’t just all about me and being homesick but that this was from God.  That it was something He was wanting us to do.  That He was wanting us to move there to start more organic churches. 

 My feelings went back and forth.  As much as I wanted to be back home in NC, I knew that we were comfortable here.  We were ‘settled’.  Annagrace had a school she loved, I had a job I loved, we love our church family.  I know this area like the back of my hand (thanks to my Home Health job!).  I may not be happy all the time, but I am comfortable.   So after weeks of going back and forth and coming up with excuses as to why we should or shouldn’t move, we finally said “Ok God .  If this is what you want, then we’ll do it.”  After all, God doesn’t call us to be comfortable.

So we have decided to take the plunge and do it.  It is exciting.  It is scary.  We have so much that needs to be done.  Our house has repairs and painting to be done.  Aaron has training to do with the men from church.  We’ll both have to find jobs.  Annagrace will be in a new school.  Madalyn will have to go to daycare for the first time in her life.  We’ll need new doctors, a new dentist.  A home to live in.  I am actually at peace with it and I am not worrying (too much!).  I know it will all work out in the way that God wants it to. 

So G-Vegas, here we come!

3 Responses to “It’s Official (Very Long Post!)”


  1. 1 Melissa August 19, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    We’ve been praying for you guys. I know this was a hard decision to make. Hope everything goes well for you all in this endeavor!

  2. 2 lsaufley August 20, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Thanks Melissa! We’ll be a little closer to y’all once we move. Maybe we can make it down that way for a visit sometime!

  3. 3 Melissa August 20, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    That would be awesome! I feel like I never get to see my college friends any more because I live here in SC! Would love to see you guys and meet your beautiful little girls 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

