He’s Not the Man I Married

I started writing this post last week.  Never finished it because I’ve been swamped at work.  But I wanted to finish it and share it with the world so here it is!

Yesterday was my tenth anniversary.  In some ways, I am amazed that it’s been ten years.  In other ways, it seems like it was forever ago!  I was too busy yesterday to post anything so today I wanted to take some time to talk about one of my favorite people in the whole wide world–my hubby. 

The Aaron that I know now is not the Aaron that I married.  And that’s a good thing.  I wish more people that knew him 10 years ago, could know him now.  I have seen God change him from an arrogant know-it-all (he would agree with those words!) to a man of God who desires nothing more than to see people come to know his Savior.  He no longer points fingers at people telling them what is wrong with them.  But rather, he grabs their hand and says “come on, let’s discover this together.”  He is strong and firm in his believes and his convictions.  But his heart is soft and full of love for God, for his family, for people.   

He loves me when I don’t deserve it.  When I come home after a busy crappy day at work and treat him in an unkind way, he still loves me.  When I lose my temper and say things I don’t mean, he still loves me.  Sometimes I wonder if I love him as much as he loves me. 

I have seen our marriage change so much over time.  I was thinking last night as I was drifting off to sleep about some memories I have of our first years together.  Memories of living in Elizabeth City, NC–taking day trips to the beach, traveling to Virginia Beach to go to concerts at the Ampitheater, our weekly Monday night grocery trips (where our budget was only $30 a week!), Friday night dates to the mall in Chesapeake.  Then memories of moving to Harrisonburg–getting our first pet (Buddy, who we still have!), buying our first home, taking trips up to Skyline Drive to hike or just look at the leaves.   Finding out we were expecting Annagrace.  Having Annagrace.  Selling our first house and buying our present home.  Having Madalyn.

And now as we finish up our first 10 years we have so many exciting things to look forward to in the coming year.  If you don’t know already, Aaron and I are thinking, talking and praying about moving to North Carolina.  It’s a hard decision for us to make and we’ve been doing a lot of talking to God about it.  Trying to decide if this is what He wants us to do. 

I know that there is no one else that I’d want to go through life with than my wonderful hubby.  My hubby.  The one . . .  

  • Who goes to get groceries with me (and doesn’t complain when I ask him to go back out and get the canvas bags that I always seem to forget in the van)
  • Who cooks supper when I’m too tired after work (tonight it was chocolate chip pancakes at my request–gotta love a man that can cook!)
  • Who loves his girls immensely
  • Who feeds the dog when I forget (he does complain about that one but he does it anyway!)
  • Who takes care of all the yard stuff (I have never mowed our yard, not even once.  I don’t even know how to start the mower!)
  • Who doesn’t complain that I need to take yet another trip to the thrift store (he just packs my boxes in the car for me without saying a word). 
  • Who vaccuums up messes
  • Who washes our mountains of clothes
  • Who keeps the oil changed in my van 
  • Who takes out the trash
  • Who loads songs on my mp3 player
  • Who helps me out when I want to have photo shoots with the girls
  • Who always drives when we take road trips to NC
  • Who puts movies that he knows I will like on the Netflix queue
  • Who loves and understands my sarcasm
  • Who can quote movies like nobody’s business
  • Who understands why “a plate of salmon and a spinny ride” is funny 
  • Who encourages me in my photography, my running, my bargain hunting, in everything really! 
  • Who loves God more than his family, but loves his family more than the church.  (You have no idea how important that is for a minister’s wife and family!)  
  • Who reads crazy, stupid books and complains about them the whole time but keeps reading because he can’t leave anything undone!  (The current book that fits this description is “The God Delusion”)
  • Who cleans the snow off my car in the winter.
  • And washes the sand and salt off my car in the summer.
  • Who watches chick flicks with me (and sometimes likes them.  Come on honey–you know “The Notebook” rocks your face off!)
  • Who loves to hear me sing in the van.  (Hee hee.  Or maybe not.  But he tolerates it.)
  • Who is the best husband and best dad ever. 

I love you baby.  I can’t imagine my life without you.  Mr. B said he was wishing us another 40 years and I told him I was counting on at least 50 more!  Thanks for being my best friend!

4 Responses to “He’s Not the Man I Married”


  1. 1 Heather Baker August 5, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I love this post! It’s a blessing to hear about a man who is being transformed from glory to glory. That’s how it should be. You are a blessed woman! Keep me posted on what you decide about NC. Happy 1oth!

  2. 2 Melissa August 6, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Congrats on 10 years! You know, both of you have changed in the past 10 years. It’s obvious in your blogs the changes that have occurred in both of you to draw you closer to God and each other. You are both very blessed 🙂

  3. 3 Mom August 7, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Laura, what a lovely tribute to Aaron. In many ways he reminds me of another man you and I both love! We are blessed!


  1. 1 My Valentines « Counting My Pennies Trackback on February 14, 2009 at 1:18 am

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

