Joel Osteen the Game–I Couldn’t Make This Stuff Up

Today I went to the local “Christian” bookstore.  (I am still amazed that that place is open on Sunday.)  I don’t typically visit this store.  Long story short, I think they overprice their items and I’m not into all the religious fluffy stuff.  But anyway, I wanted to find a Derek Webb CD and knew my chances of finding it at Target or Circuit City were slim.  So I went there (and luckily found the last copy of the CD I wanted).

While I was there I browsed the game section.  I was taken back and very apalled to find this:

Yes people.  That is a Joel Osteen board game.  Like I said, I couldn’t make this stuff up.  I thought about that game all the way home.  What is the purpose other than to suck a little more money out of people and to fatten up Joel’s wallet?  I mean, really.  It is a stupid game with a stupid premise and he is using it as another tool to deceive millions of people into believing that God is going to solve all their problems.  According to Joel, once you give your life to God, He will give you more money, a better life, a better marriage, a nicer car, a nicer home, and good health.  And if you do not have those things then you must not have enough faith. 

It has been my experience that if you live a Christian life, I’m talking about an authentic Christian life where Jesus is your first and foremost priority (and not a multi-million dollar church building, fancy three peice suits and porcelein veneers bright enough to be seen from Outer Space) that your life is going to be more difficult–not easier!  Jesus doesn’t want us comfortable and rich!  I’d like to tell Mr. Osteen that if he believes that our wellness depends on our faith then he is making a liar and a mockery out of my mama.  And I ain’t down with that.  My mama is one of the most faithful, gentle and God-loving people that I know and yet her body is crippled from arthritis.  So is Mr. Joel saying that she doesn’t have enough faith?!  He can bite his tongue and swallow it for implying that!   

So maybe I am opening a can of worms here, but what do y’all think about Joel Osteen?  Do you think he is legit and that he truly loves the Lord?  Or is a money hungry wolf in sheep’s clothing?  Do you think he is knowingly deceiving people?  Or has he himself been decieved? 

I’m curious to know what other’s opinion of him is.  If you have an opinion at all, please comment!

5 Responses to “Joel Osteen the Game–I Couldn’t Make This Stuff Up”


  1. 1 GoodCents July 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I think he is rich beyond belief for making people feel good, feel inspired, and believe in what he’s saying.

    People believe in religion (whatever one that may be) because it gives them something, makes them feel empowered and whole.

    I have no idea what really goes on in his head but I think if people feel good and become inspired by listening to him or even buying his board game then more power to him..

    I look at him as nothing more then a great motivational speaker.. if that makes him rich.. I guess good for him…

    🙂 On a side note, I won’t be purchasing the board game, lol…

  2. 2 Aaron July 21, 2008 at 5:55 am

    I think the dude is deceived himself. I really think he believes that what he’s doing is the right thing to do. The problem is, the cross he’s asking people to carry seems to be gold-plated, and nothing like the cross Jesus asks us to carry.

    Osteen mistakes future promises for present reality… and thus his message is deeply out of touch with reality. He no longer takes a paycheck from his church–and who would in his situation? Why take $250K a year when your book deal was worth tens of millions? Maybe it should have been the other way around…

    Osteen’s theology is totally at odds with what Jesus experienced on earth–out of whack relationships, poverty, suffering. If your theology doesn’t include Jesus, something’s really wrong.

  3. 3 Tina July 21, 2008 at 7:15 am

    Hi there,
    I can tell this really hit a nerve! I find it hard to understand why a board game would even be made by him…but, that is besides the point. I know in my life, that Jesus is what makes the bad turn for good – I know that He says we have to have faith the size of a mustard seed to move a mountain, I know that He will never leave or forsake us, I know He says in this life we WILL have trouble, etc. etc. So, as far as Mr. Osteen is concerned, I have no position to judge the motivation of his heart – only God can & will do that.

  4. 4 melissaeparks July 21, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I think the dude has more money than real sense. I think he is selling feel good self-help crap and not really helping anyone!

    I think he needs to read his Bible a bit more before spouting off.

    A board game…gimme a break…how is that going to help you be more fulfilled as a Christian?

    You are right on the mark!

  5. 5 maryanne August 7, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    He comes off as fake and unrealistic. Jesus was poor and simple, why does Joel think we should all be rich and peppy? Peppy is annoying. Wealth is pointless.

    Nice blog, I take photos too. Your really talented.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

